Skip to main content

Full text of "St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990"

See other formats


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 

Facts, Features and (occasional) Fallacies 
reported in Cambridge Newspapers 

summarised by 

Mike Petty 


Most of these stories originally appeared in the Cambridge Daily/Evening/News or the 
Cambridgeshire Weekly News, its sister title. 

They are supplemented by some articles published in the 
Cambridge Independent Press or Cambridge Chronicle 

Most were featured in my ‘Looking Back’ column in the Cambridge News from 1996-2014 

The complete ‘Cambridgeshire Scrapbook’ of which this is a small section is published online at 

bit.ly/CambsCollection 

I have digital and other copies of most of the stories summarised. 

I hope to publish these online one day. If you would like them in the meantime then please get in 

touch. 

The original volumes are housed in the Cambridgeshire Collection at Cambridge Central Library 
where there are many other indexes dating back to 1770. 

They also have detailed newspaper cuttings files on over 750 topics that have been compiled since the 

1960s. 

Newspapers sometimes get things wrong. I copy things out incorrectly. Do check 
There are a multitude of spelling and layout errors. Please forgive or correct them 
News never stops but this file was finished on 31 August 2016. 

I will maintain supplements and corrections - contact me for anything you need 
Please make what use of these notes that you may. Kindly remember where they came from 
See my website - www.mikepetty.org.uk for further notes. 

Mike Petty, Stretham 
2017 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1897 06 21 c 

At St Ives Town Council the Mayor said they would like to offer an address of congratulation to her 
Majesty on this memorable occasion (her Diamond Jubilee), and read an address which he proposed 
such be illuminated and presented at a cost not exceeding five guineas. Mr Kiddle asked what her 
Majesty did with these address and if she saw them. He was as loyal as anybody in the room but he 
could not see his way to spend five guineas for an illuminated address. It was agreed it be engrossed 
on parchment in the Town Clerk's office. 

1897 06 02 

St Ives was visited on Saturday evening by a thunderstorm of short duration. At Mr B. King's house in 
Church-street the chimney was struck and bricks scattered in all direction. The current made a great 
hole in the roof and smashed all the ornaments and a water jug in the bedroom. A large picture in a 
gilt frame looks as though it has been rescued from fire, all the gilt being scorched and burnt off. This 
picture hung directly over the head of the bed in which Mrs King and her child were. 

1897 06 11 

St Ives jubilee address, p3 
1897 08 23 

The subject of the interview in this week's "Cable" is Mr C.P. Tebbutt, who is a prominent member of 
the County Council, manager of Foster's Bank at St Ives, and farms about 550 acres of land, within a 
mile of Bluntisham railway station. On the question of education he is "very opposed to the pressure 
exercised by the Education Department in respect of keeping boys at school. I favour a half-time and 
a half-day system. I have been a manager of the British School in Bluntisham for many years and I am 
strongly impressed with the deleterious effect the compulsory classes have had upon the agricultural 
community. Boys who are kept in school until they are 14 years old never make the farm labourers 
they would have made if they had left school at an earlier period" 

1897 09 09 

St Ives sailing club, p3 
1897 09 10 

St Ives Town Council Surveyor had examined the gas pipes running by the sewer. In one place the gas 
pipe went right across the sewer, obstructing about one fourth of it. In another case the gas pipe ran 
diagonally with the sewer, obstructing it. He did not think the Gas Company were the chief sinners in 
the matter. He thought it was the town. In some cases the sewers were laid over the gas pipes 

1897 10 11 

Before the purchase of the Ouse navigation by Mr Simpson the locks above St Ives were in a bad state 
of repair, through leakage of gates etc. Barges going up the river to St Ives were obliged to make a 
"pen" (or level water at the locks) by means of planks they carried with them for the purpose. These 
planks fitted into grooves in the brickwork in the sides of the locks and answered the puipose of 
"gates" for the lower end of the lock. Then the upper gate would be opened and the water levelled to 
the planks. When this was done the barge was taken out of the lock, the gates closed and the planks 
taken out. This, of course, was a slow process, through the leakage between the planks but still it was 
possible to get through. Now Mr Simpson refuses to allow the lock at St Ives to be used in the manner 
for which it was constructed, and has closed the locals above St Ives altogether 

1897 10 12 

St Ives Michaelmas Fair was visited by a great number of people. They came in by crowds from the 
railway station, in many a slap-up conveyance and every other shade of vehicle. Monday is looked 
upon as the business day of the fair. The streets near the Market - Cromwell-place area were utilised 
to stand the horses for sale and the adjacent side streets were used as exercise yards in which to show 
the paces of the animals amid much cracking of whips, shouting, and whistling, and the display of 
w'ww.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


pink chintz flags used at the end of a stick to frighten the animals. A few were very good horses, but 
most of them were not so good - to put it mildly 

1897 10 13 

Warning - St Ives fair, p2-3 & 14th p4 
1897 10 221 

The Rev R.W. Close called attention to the increase of vagrancy and the number of vagrant children 
who had gone through the three Poor Law Unions in Huntingdonshire. The children in the 
Workhouses were well kept and well brought up, but the condition of the vagrant children when 
brought into the Workhouse was very bad. Their health suffered, their clothes were often wet, and 
they were dirty. The meeting at St Ives proposed that Unions should have the power to take such 
children away from the control of their parents, provided that magistrates could annul the resolution 
on the application of the parents after a hearing 

1897 11 03 
St Ives fishing, p2 

1897 11 

At St Ives rural district council meeting Mr Barlow said that the Fenstanton pump was only about 
eight feet from the pond and every time cattle or horses went to the pond the water was stirred up and 
became black, and this water found its way into the well. If they cleaned out the well a dozen times 
they would never made him believe the water in that well would be good because the water would 
percolate through to the well 

1897 11 

The annual working men's dinner of the St Ives Quoits Club was held at the New Crown, St Ives. 
Thirty-nine members sat down to an excellent spread. They were told some people carping at the 
game of quoits but if they kept such honorary members as Mr Fellowes, Mr Ruston (the mayor) and 
Mr R.J. Linsell, they would resuscitate the good old game of quoits in the county. The Chairman 
proposed the health of the visiting clubs including the Durham Ox at Cambridge 

1897 11 25 

The water in the river at St Ives is now exceedingly low, and the stench from it is very bad indeed. At 
the bottom of Priory-road it is enough to breed a fever and people can hardly bear it. It is hoped the 
approaching meeting of the Hunts. County Council will take the matter in hand. Meanwhile we would 
suggest to Mr Stimpson, that for the sake of the public health, he should shut the gates at the Staunch, 
and keep enough water in the river to prevent any outbreak 

1897 12 02 

Shortly after 12 o'clock this morning the shop of Mr Norman, watchmaker, close to the Sheep Market, 
St Ives, was found to be on fire. It is the centre one of three buildings, the White Hart and the Falcon 
being on either side. The howling of a dog in the shop awoke the inmates, or they would probably 
have been burnt in their beds. Mr John Anderson of the White Hart ran round to the firemen's houses 
and the brigade, with the apparatus, were quickly on the spot. The fire burnt its way into the White 
Hart and penetrated every room in the Falcon except the front room downstairs. The dog which gave 
the alarm was found dead in the shop by the firemen 

1898 01 21 

The first annual meeting of the St Ives and District Nursing Association was held in the Corn 
Exchange, St Ives. The number of cases attended have been 1 17 of which 71 were in St Ives, 19 in 
Fenstanton and 27 in Hemingford. Of these eight have died, five have been removed to hospital and 
90 have recovered. Twenty of the cases were accidents, several of them serious, and of such a nature 
as to make removal to the hospital difficult, so that the patients derived much benefit from skilled 
nursing in their own homes. 
www.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1898 01 25 

A very large company assembled at the Golden Lion Hotel, St Ives, when three licenced houses were 
put up for sale by auction. The first house offered was the Pelican Inn, Warboys. It was fully licenced 
and well fitted up with a frontage to the High Street. It was sold for £1,000, it being fully expected to 
realize at least £1,500. Next was the Three Horseshoes in Woodhurst, brought for £500. The freehold 
beerhouse in Fenstanton known as the Prince's Feathers with the cottage adjoining was sold for £500 
to Mr G.G. Wheeler as agent for Mr Burt, the well-known Fenstanton brewer 
St Ives agriculture meeting 

1898 04 01 

Mr Cecil Johnstone, who has been postmaster of St Ives for so many years, has been promoted to the 
postmaster of Wellingborough. Mr Johnstone has been postmaster for 15 years, and succeeded his 
father, who held the office for 30 years. Mr Jo hns tone’s departure is regretted by all St Ives, and 
especially by the employees at the Post Office. 

1898 04 04 

About a thousand people assembled on the Quay, St Ives, to witness the public baptism of two young 
women in the river Ouse. One of the oldest and best-known chapels in the town is the Crown Yard 
Baptist chapel. The congregation attending there pin their faith to immersion in baptism. Unlike most 
chapels of the same persuasion, they have not their place of worship fitted up for this form of baptism; 
hence the adjournment to the river. The members of the congregation made their way to the river side, 
a good many of them being permitted to go inside the railings surrounding the Masonic Temple, from 
which a good view of the baptism was obtained. They found a large concourse of people assembled, 
the bridge itself was crowded with people; out of the windows protruding heads viewed the scene 
while on the other side of the stream a good many people had collected. 

1898 04 07 

A shepherd named William Facer, of Houghton, has had a remarkable experience in St Ives this 
week. On Monday, like a good many more in this neighbourhood, he attended St Ives market. On 
Tuesday morning he discovered he had lost two £5 notes. He enquired at different places if the 
precious bits of paper had been seen. Among the places visited was Mr Hewson’s, the pork butcher in 
Merryland. On Tuesday a boy swept out the shop. He picked up the bits of paper about the floor, and 
was about to light the fire with them, when his attention was attracted to two pieces by their crispness. 
He smoothed out the crumpled bits of paper and loh they were two £5 notes. The note must have lain 
on the floor a while scores of people went in and out and did not see them. Facer may thank his stars 
the notes were found by good honest folk, and also that they were not burnt without being noticed 
Wisbech Union brewery, p3 

1898 05 10 
St Ives drunk, * 

1898 05 13 

A terrific explosion occurred at the shop of Mr Ruston, ironmonger, St Ives. The centre part of the 
warehouse was reduced to ruins, the front windows of the shop blown out, and great damage done to 
the surrounding buildings. Two assistants are missing, and it is supposed they are buried amidst the 
ruins of the warehouse. The windows of the shops across the street are also blown in. Messrs Foster's 
bank on the side nearest Mr Ruston's has every window broken. Even two side windows of the Corn 
Exchange, where a dog show is being held, are broken. No one knows yet how the explosion was 
caused, but it is bought one of the men must have taken a light to the gunpowder safe. 

1898 05 14 

St Ives explosion inquest, p3 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1898 05 18 

Two young men, the victims of the awful explosion at St Ives, were buried were buried on Sunday 
afternoon. One gentleman says he stood at the cemetery gates and counted 1,750 persons enter. 

People flocked in from all the villages around, and it is questionable if such a large number has 
attended a funeral in the down before. This shows how the lamentable affair has stirred the heart of 
the people of the town. Both were members of the Wesleyan Sunday's School, and the distressed 
parents are greatly comforted in the thought that they were such good-living lads 

1898 05 31 

St Ives was all alive on the occasion of the Whitsuntide fair. The show of horses in East Street and 
the surrounding streets was fully up to the average, and many of them were very fine animals. The 
stables in the town were crowded with horses and the influx of dealers was great. Many London 
dealers went the rounds of the stables on Sunday and completed their purchases on Monday morning, 
so that a large number of the best of the animals were not shown in the fair at all. This is the first day 
of the reopening of the store pig market, but we believe the supply was not a large one. There are 
scarcely any shows, and only a few swings and sweet stalls. The attendance of people was large 

1898 06 24 

Woodhurst was all astir on the occasion of the Church feast. The principal Street was gaily decorated 
with flags, and in a field close to the Church was a round-about, swings, coconut shying, and sweet 
stalls which were well patronise. A large number were present from the surrounding villages, and a 
strong contingent from St Ives who journeyed over in waggonettes, traps, and all sorts of vehicles. 
Bicyclists were also in strong evidence and a few even tramped the distance. 

1898 07 15 
St Ives drains, p3 

1898 07 30 
St Ives river, p3 

1898 08 12 

St Ives public pump *, police & council 

1898 08 18 
St Ives regatta, p4 

1898 08 24 

Messrs Dilley and son, auctioneers, offered for sale the whole of the stock-in- trade, machinery, 
coals, fittings etc of the "Cromwell" Engineering Works, St Ives, by direction of Messrs Fowell and 
son, who are dissolving partnership. There was a large company present, buyers coming from Leeds, 
Liverpool, Manchester, Sheffield and all the engineering centres, as well as a crowd of local 
purchasers. There were 530 lots and the sale occupied a considerable time. The scrap iron fetched a 
record price, one large heap of old cast iron realising £51. The plant and machinery fetched a good 
price. The freehold premises comprising an extensive foundry, with engineer’s workshop and three 
plots of building land adjoining the Great Eastern Railway were also sold 

1898 08 26 

Mr Horatio Wadsworth, mineral water manufacturer, of Bridge Street, St Ives, applied for a licence 
to sell bottled beer in quantities not less than a dozen half pint bottles at a time. He was the owner of 
an excise licence to sell bottled beer and this was simply an extension of that licence. He had every 
facility for bottling beer and was now bottling the beer of a firm in this county up to five or six 
thousand bottles. He intended to bottle local beer from Jenkins and Jones if he got the licence. He 
would be the only bottler of beer in St Ives. It did not interfere with the retailers of beer as he would 
not sell by single bottle or by the jug. He would send out the bottled beer at the same time that he sent 
out soda water and ginger beer 
www.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1898 08 29 

Funeral Aid King, St Ives, p3 
1898 09 08 

St Ives Guardians bread, p4 
1898 09 09 

At St Ives Town council Mr Ruston said that it was desirable something be done to avoid the 
nuisance which arose through the Michaelmas fair being held on the market place. There was a great 
nuisance caused by the smoke from the caravans, and the stench which arose from their refuse. It 
would be a very good thing if they could have the fair held outside the town. He did not see why they 
should encourage "riff raff’; they ought to preserve the tranquillity of the town. The Mayor thought 
that if the horse fair was held in the overflow market instead of in the back streets it would be an 
alteration which one could not very well object to 

1898 09 17 

At an inquiry at St Ives the East Hunts Water Company said that for several days there was no supply 
to the taps. If they erected stand pipes it would be detrimental to their company as their 116 customers 
would go to the stand pipe for their drinking supply and use other water for cleaning purposes. The 
medical officer of health said that the pumps had been closed in 1 893 as they were polluted with 
sewage and notices placed on the pumps would be insufficient to prevent people drinking the water. 
The Vicar said the river was so low that it had prevented a large number of persons from getting the 
water from the river for sanitary purposes 

1898 12 09 

As the Mail cart which runs between Huntingdon and Cambridge was proceeding through 
Hemingford Abbots the horse stumbled and fell on the granite which has recently been laid on the 
road, and cut its leg so badly that it could not proceed. The driver tried to borrow a horse to continue 
his journey. Colonel Dougal very kindly lent one of his nags and then his groom had to drive the Mail 
cart to St Ives where it arrived nearly an hour behind time. Other arrangements were made for 
continuing the journey to Cambridge 

1898 12 19 

St Ives tossed by cow, p3 

1899 02 11 

Samuel Kisby Breese of the firm of coal merchants, St Ives, told the story of his career and ultimate 
bankruptcy. He had started when seven years old and commenced as partner to his brother 20 years 
ago. His father had died in 1840 and his mother carried on the business. When she died they took it 
over. He did not think the business was solvent then. When the navigation of the Ouse was stopped it 
cost them about £100 a year. They lost thirteen horses and another time three barges were sunk. They 
were laden with wheat and they had to pay £50 damage 

1899 04 08 

The annual vestry was held in at St Ives when there was a large attendance of church people, and also 
a number of nonconformists. It was expected there would be some "life" infused into the proceedings 
owing to the usual printed notices not having been issued, no notices placed on the chapel doors, and 
the time and place of the meeting had been altered. Those who went with the object of enjoying the 
“fun” were not disappointed. Mr Osbourne said they were on the eve of another change of vicar. 
These changes had come more frequently than some of them wished. 

1899 04 14 

An artist, residing at Hemingford Grey petitioned for divorce. In 1 896 he took a house for the summer 
at St Ives and his wife became acquainted with the co-respondent who bore a bad character in the 

mvw.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


neighbourhood with regard to his conduct with ladies. Later on he heard rumours about the village 
regarding respecting his wife's conduct and she left next day. A few days after there was a great 
commotion, effigies of her and the co-respondent being burned opposite the house. 

1899 05 04 

St Ives Vestry - reply, p3 
1899 05 17 

Queen Cromwell & St Ives, p3 * 

1899 05 18c 

Sir. I learn that St Ives town council has resolved to commemorate Cromwell with a statue worthy of 
him and the town. My object is to refer to the disloyalty and meanness manifested to our good Queen 
in 1897 on the occasion of her Diamond Jubilee when it was urged that some fitting memorial should 
be erected in the town to perpetuate her reign. But it was not to be, there was money, but no loyalty. 
There are two opinions of Cromwell, but there can be no two opinions of our most gracious Majesty, 
Queen Victoria - Elliott Odams 

1899 08 10 

Friendly rowing, sculling and water polo matches were held between St Ives and Oundle Rowing 
Clubs. In the four-oar race St Ives had the narrow boat, which again sustained her character as the 
worst boat of the two, having never yet carried the winning crew. St Ives No.2 lost his oar repeatedly, 
owing to a faulty rowlock and it was not because of faulty rowing that they were beaten by three 
lengths. 

1899 08 14 

St Ives injury cart, p2 

1899 09 30 
St Ives burglary, p3 

1899 10 12 

St Ives council recommended that the fire engine, purchased 27 years ago, be repaired at a cost of 
£48. A manual engine would be lent for use while the old one was being put in repair. Mr Smith asked 
if they were well paid when the engine went out of the town to a fire, as it was through being taken 
out that these repairs were necessary. The Mayor said £2 was paid each time it went out. Mr Ruston 
said this would not pay for the damage done to the hose alone 

1899 10 31 

A tramp was charged with refusing to do his allotted task at St Ives Workhouse. The Master (Mr 
Eversdell) set prisoner to pick 2Vi lbs of oakum. He refused as he was suffering from asthma and 
being in a cell from which the dust from the oakum could not get away it would get upon his lungs 
and would be ill for weeks. He offered to do any other kind of out-door work. Magistrates said he 
could have seen the doctor and he would have to go to gaol for 14 days 

1899 11 22 

Huntingdon County Council sought a declaration that the River Ouse from above St Neots to below St 
Ives and thence to the sea, was a public navigable river and a common highway. Leonard Simpson 
claimed that it was his private property. He had the exclusive passage of vessels laden with 
merchandise and no one else should navigate any part of the river without a licence from him. The 
judge said the public were entitled to use it. 

1899 12 22 

St Ives patriotic entertainment, p2 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1900 01 26 

A large warehouse at St Ives occupied by Councillor Bullard, rod merchant, for the storage of osier 
rods caught alight. The fire when first discovered was raging in the middle story of the building at the 
end nearest the river but within a quarter of an hour the whole place was a mass of fire, owing to the 
inflammable nature of its contents. The whole of the woodwork was destroyed and nothing but the 
bare walls of the huge warehouse now remain. Mr Bullard’s dwelling house was only separated by the 
roadway and his children were quickly taken from their beds, wrapped up in blankets, and removed to 
a place of safety. 

1900 01 26 
St Ives fire, p3 * 

1900 02 19 

Water flooded the Waits, Wellington Street and Priory Road, St Ives, to the depth of several feet and 
inhabitants have had to remove their household effects and live in the upper rooms. Residents in 
Woolpack Lane could only reach their dwellings by means of planks laid on packing boxes. The 
Union Workhouse at Hemingford Grey is flooded to a depth of several inches. Thirty -eight houses in 
Victoria Terrace are flooded and provisions have to be delivered by boat. The flood has passed by 
nearly an inch the height of the disastrous flood of 1877. 

1900 04 09 
St Ives fire, p2 

1900 05 19 

Newmarket was overjoyed to hear the good news of the relief of Mafeking and soon Union Jacks 
were flying from nearly every house and shop. At St Ives the news was heralded by the explosion of 
detonators and the streets were at once decorated. At Ely a crowd of enthusiasts marched round the 
streets carrying flags and at Saffron Walden bunting was displayed in all directions. There was a good 
congregation at Over church service consisting chiefly of men who came direct from their work. 

1900 07 05 

A fire occurred in a warehouse at Birt’s Lane, St Ives, occupied by Mr Cole of the Golden Lion Hotel 
as a stable. The building stands between the Friends’ Meeting House on one side and the Old Baptist 
Chapel (now used by Mr Ruston as an implement warehouse) on the other, whilst immediately 
opposite is Mr Warner’s large leather-curing warehouse. The Fire Brigade was soon on the spot but 
the supply of water was very meagre. The whole of the contents of the building were destroyed, 
together with the roof and floors, only the outer walls being left standing. 

1900 07 12 
St Ives council, p2 

1900 07 14 

Star Yard pump, St Ives, p2 

1900 07 16 
St Ives pump, p2 

1900 07 19 

Sir - The birds of prey watching the interest of the East Hunts Water Company have made another 
pounce and seized the Star Yard pump at St Ives. A large number of persons who have been using this 
really good supply of water will have their supply cut off. A lad has been found to have diphtheria, 
and of course it must be this Star Yard pump, while the fact that a child died from the same disease in 
Filbert’s Walk, where the East Hunts water is laid on, is entirely ignored! When all the pumps have 
been closed by the minions we shall be obliged to use the river, although it has just now a wonderful 
stench which that august body does not seem to trouble about - Ratepayer 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1900 07 25 

Sir - Respecting the Star Yard pump at St Ives. I have drunk its water for many years and never heard 
the purity doubted before. It has always been the best, or as good as any in the town & it is a shame 
that the users should be deprived of the water unless by the inexorably exigencies of the health of the 
public warrant such a privation. If I know anything of my neighbours I believe they would rather have 
had their parish church seized and closed than their pump - Another Ratepayer 

1900 08 10 

At the meeting of St Ives Board of Guardians the Chairman referred to the evils of overcrowding 
attending the boarding-out of London children in the district. In several cases children were sleeping 
six in a bed in very unsuitable dwellings. The Board took no action on the matter. 

1900 08 18 

W.H. Smith & Son have recently made a great improvement at the St Ives railway station in opening 
their smart new bookstall, at which all publications can now be obtained. It promises an abundant 
selection of literature and should prove to be of great improvement to both the travelling public and 
the inhabitants of St Ives & district. 

1900 08 28 

Mr Walker, blacksmith, noticed that the thatched roof near the chimney of a house occupied by Bert 
Gentle, a journeyman carpenter, of Earith Road, Bluntisham, was on fire. The fire engine belonging to 
the village was accordingly manned and a wire despatched to St Ives for the engine and fire brigade. 
The Bluntisham engine, although an old-fashioned one, was placed in Mr Searle’s farmyard and a 
constant volume of water was poured on to the farm buildings. Too much praise cannot be given to 
those who worked so indefatigably at the engine pump, for although the flames were driven by the 
wind to the adjoining thatched barn they succeeded in confining the conflagration to the house where 
it broke out. 

1900 12 27 

St Ives Ladysmith hero, p3 

1901 01 15 

St Ives fatality p3 

1901 04 10 
St Ives accident, p3 

1901 05 16 

A St Ives Inland Revenue officer was summoned for wilfully damaging a petition to the House of 
Commons against any alteration of the coronation oath. Mr Odams said he had produced the petition 
and allowed defendant to look at it. After doing so he refused to return it. The paper was returned 
some time after with many erasures and marks thereon. George Smith, tailor, said his name was on 
the petition. Defendant came to him and tried to frighten him out of his signature. He was not 
surprised that some had taken off their names, as defendant was in such a way that it would frighten 
anyone 

1901 07 11 

St Ives council heard the condition of the water was unsatisfactory. There was a sufficient supply in 
the pipes but it was thick and highly discoloured, so much so that consumers preferred not to use it. 
The Company was under obligation to supply pure, wholesome water, unless prevented by frost. They 
could proceed to arbitration as to whether the quality was unsatisfactory, and these would be 
expensive proceedings 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1901 08 05 

A man named Lock, who was at work on the land at Eriswell, was struck by lightning; his coat and 
waistcoat were much scorched, but, strange to say, the man was uninjured other than from the shock. 
About the same time a tree was struck near Wamil Hall, Mildenhall. At St Ives the rain poured down 
in torrents and the streets in many instances were flooded, owing to the drains not being able to carry 
off the extraordinary rush of water. 

1901 11 15c 

The London meeting of the Chamber of Agriculture passed a resolution in favour of giving farm 
labourers an interest in the land. The country that lost its agriculture was in a fair way to decay. Mr 
Tebbutt (St Ives) argued that the system adopted by the Duke of Bedford, who had built cottages on 
his estates for the use of the labourers, might be followed with great advantage. Country lads should 
spend the summer on the land and the winter at school. 

1902 03 18 

Sunday was a great day amongst the Roman Catholics of St Ives and neighbourhood. For the past two 
years they have worshipped in a wooden building in East Street. Now the former church of St 
Andrew, Cambridge, which was pulled down in 1894, has been secured, removed and re-erected at St 
Ives. The ceremony of laying the foundation stone took place in the presence of a vast concourse of 
people. The original church was somewhat deficient in light but this will be remedied by a clerestory 
light over the altar. The new building will be known as the Church of the Sacred Heart 

1902 07 10 

It is not a common feat to take down stone by stone, transport for fourteen miles and re-erect, 
practically without alteration, a solidly-built church capable of accommodating some 250 
worshippers. That is what has been done with regard to the old Roman Catholic Church of St Andrew 
at Cambridge which has been removed to St Ives. The church is one of Pugin’s earlier masterpieces 
and for 59 years it was in use in Cambridge. Then it was superseded by the magnificent new church of 
Our Lady and the English Martyrs. It was in danger of falling into a ruinous condition when the idea 
was conceived of transporting it to St Ives. # c.83 

1903 01 20 

Roads at St Ives assumed a dangerous condition for pedestrians, as a sharp frost had made them as 
slippery and smooth as glass. On Sunday morning one could skate from St Ives to Hilton on the main 
road, a distance of over four miles, without injury to the skates. Mr Thomas Phillips, wholesale 
fruiterer of the Market Hill slipped and sustained serious injury to his thigh. Mr Mason, the noted 
bone setter, of Wisbech, was sent for but could not come. 

1903 09 05 

The first sale of goods seized from the passive resisters of St Ives was held near the police station. 
None of the local auctioneers would accept the office so a Peterborough firm was imported to carry 
out the sale. The appearance of the auctioneer was the sequel for an uproar of groans, hooting and 
hissing. The first lot was a Brussels carpet and teapot, then came a sewing machine taken from Mr 
Money, tailor, to pay his arrears of 9d; this was run up to 30s. at which price it was knocked down to 
his employer. The sale closed amidst general uproar and the crowd made for the Cromwell Statue for 
a great demonstration. 

1903 10 15 

The marriage of the niece of General Sir John French was celebrated at Hemingford; in order to attend 
the ceremony the distinguished soldier passed through St Ives where the Mayor and Corporation 
extended him a civic welcome. The town has witnessed no such excitement since the unveiling of the 
Cromwell statue. Inhabitants decorated their houses with flags and bunting and a contingent of the 
Hunts Volunteers, the Fire Brigade and Boys’ Brigade paraded with a brass band. 

Undergraduate behaviour, p3 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1903 1 1 30 

The unprecedented rainfall has taxed waterways beyond their capacity and floods are the natural 
consequence. In Cambridge boathouses have been invaded by the flood and the ferries have stopped 
plying. The flood has taken possession of Sheep’s Green and part of Coe Fen while the Upper Granta 
has inundated many acres of pasture. In the fen country the dykes are full to overflowing and the land 
clogged with water, while in St Ives there are floods to a considerable depth covering hundreds of 
acres. 

1904 07 04 

St Ives memorial, p3 

1905 05 24 

The new St Ives Wesleyan Chapel replaces one which has served for nearly 90 years. New school 
premises were opened last September and have been used during the building of the new church. It 
occupies a larger area and is of a beautiful and commodious design. Mr F. Sidney Webber of London 
was the architect and F. Giddings of St Ives the builder. The door was unlocked by Mrs Gawthrop 
using a silver key. 05 05 24 

1906 04 12 

Ely should provide better accommodation for the horse and cattle fairs now held in the public streets. 
The horse fair was very dangerous and the cattle fair a nuisance in more ways than one. They did not 
want to take the fair away, just make it more respectable. If St Ives could do it, why not Ely? But what 
was the use of providing a field if they could not compel people to go to it. Councillors decided to 
take no action 06 04 12d & e 

1906 06 30 

Isaac Wilderspin, implement maker of Elsworth won first prize in an international competition for the 
best non-skid tyre for bicycles. The trial lasted five days with machines tested on a slanting asphalt 
track, besmeared with Thames mud and soft soap before being sent on a 300 mile run on the high 
road. It was ridden by W. Tolliday of the firm of Parker and Son, cycle makers of St Ives. Now he has 
invented a similar tyre for motor cars. 06 06 30a 

1906 08 1 1 

St Ives & Wadsworth, p4 * 

1906 11 07 

The Rector of Bluntisham told the court he found a window in the church had been broken and a 
contribution box taken from the wall. He knew there was a half-crown in it. The landlord of the Dog 
and Gun, Earith, said the defendant, a fine specimen of the Basuto race, had asked for a packet of 
Woodbines but could not afford a pint, and said he was going to St Ives. Fred Berridge, butcher of 
Chatteris, said he came to his shop and asked for threepennyworth of pieces and laid down a two- 
shilling piece. The man was arrested at the Old Hoops lodging house in Slade End but there was 
insufficient evidence to convict. 06 1 1 07a 

1906 12 03 

A terrible calamity has overtaken the St Ives Catholic community, the interior of whose beautiful 
Mission Church of the Sacred Heart was wrecked in one of the most astonishing cases of sacrilege 
ever recorded. A madman broke into the church by battering the door with a sledgehammer and then 
swept round the building like an avenging fury, raining blows on every object until there was nothing 
left to break. 06 12 03a & b 

1906 12 08 
St Ives church, p4 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1907 01 16 

A Fenstanton woman said an Over farmer had gone into the Dolphin, St Ives and alleged an improper 
connection between herself and a man who was a friend of the family who been in the habit of visiting 
her home. What made it worse was that she was within a week of her confinement and had not 
previously had a child for ten years. Now people she met in the street would not look at her. 

Defendant claimed it was a joke but the words had been uttered angrily with his face thrust into the 
face of her husband. Five of the jury were in favour of £6 damages and five in favour of one farthing. 
07 01 16 a & b 

1907 03 26 

The advent of the motor car has produced a new swindler replying on the average motor owner’s lack 
of technical knowledge. One visited Dr Grove of St Ives with what he claimed was a patent sparking 
plug produced by a French firm which they wished prominent motorists to try. It cost 8s.9d (44p) but 
it had no name on it. Dr Grove called the police who discovered a bag containing twelve cheap plugs 
and a list of the names of all car owners in the neighbourhood. The man was convicted of obtaining 
money by false pretences and sentenced to three months’ hard labour. 07 03 26a 

1907 05 22 

A man of prepossessing appearance walked into the principal hotel at St Ives mentioned in an 
American accent that he was Mr Jay Gould junior, the tennis champion, and challenged the best local 
player. He was lionised by all. But later he was interviewed by Inspector Storey about a bicycle stolen 
from Huntingdon. Instead of the comfortable bed at the Golden Lion hotel he had to be content with a 
cell at the police station where he was charge under the name of George Pettitt of London. 

07 05 22b 

1907 06 08 

St Ives ‘millionaire’ - 07 06 08 

1908 01 31 

A strip of land near St Ives old bridge was the subject of an inquiry. Boys used to fish from it and 
bargees shortened their ropes there to go over the bridge. It had been considered as a site for public 
conveniences but instead they’d used the old toll house. Nobody had been stopped from using it. But 
now it would be needed to widen the bridge and Mr Horatio Wadsworth claimed a right to the surface 
of the land. 08 01 31 

1908 02 07 

St Ives bridge dispute, Wadsworth - 08 02 07b 
1908 03 16 

St Ives accident, William Dellar - 08 03 16a 
1908 04 01 

Licensing bill protest at St Ives - 08 04 01 
1908 04 30 

Serious flood, St Ives - 08 04 30b 
1908 06 26 

Dealers spoke very pessimistically of trade at the Horse Fair on Midsummer Common. There are 
periodic shows of horses at Cambridge and St Ives and that is where most of the good local horses go. 
Added to the scarcity of horses in the country, the trade on the Common is decreasing year by year 
and in a few years this old-established sale will be no more. CWN 08 06 26 p7 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1908 07 31 

The Junior Bursar of Trinity College was driving a lady in a tricar towards Hemingford Abbotts when 
the brakes failed and he crashed into the back of a farm cart with considerable violence, the lady being 
hit on the chest. A passing motor cyclist raced off to St Ives for assistance and Dr Percy Rose arrived 
on the scene by motor cycle quickly followed by Inspector Gale and Pc Deighton in Mr Parker’s 
motor car. 08 07 3 1 

1908 10 13 

A serious collision occurred at St Ives. Mr F. Clarke, furniture dealer, was driving his horse in a trap 
when it became unmanageable and bolted. In taking the Olive Road corner the runaway collided with 
Mr Denton’s trap of which the shaft was broken off. It then turned completely over and Mr Clarke 
was thrown through the window of the White Lion Hotel. He was badly cut but no bones were broken 
and he was removed to his residence. CWN 08 10 13 

1909 02 05 

Elliott Robert Odams was a patriot who revered the memory of the late beloved Queen and because St 
Ives did not erect a memorial to her memory he gave the Victoria Jubilee Fountain in the Broadway. 
He had continued John Coote’s business as a brewer and maltster in Cambridge until 1885 when he 
sold it to Mr R. Flick and moved to St Ives where he took an active part in public life. He was a 
staunch Conservative and a reader and supporter of the Cambridgeshire Weekly News from its 
commencement. 09 02 05 

1909 07 10 

One of the most vital needs of St Ives is an adequate sewage scheme. But the Council has decided not 
to go ahead with a scheme after the Ministry of Housing has refused to make a grant and it would 
have involved an additional rate of 14/- (70p) in the pound. They are now considering other ways of 
dealing with the river pollution. 09 07 10 

1910 01 28 

The General Election has been one of the keenest on record and it is with a feeling of relief that one 
realises the struggle is over. A number of election hoaxes have been perpetrated: rumours were 
circulated that a conflict had taken place between police and crowds at Cambridge and that the Riot 
Act had been read at St Ives. At Great Shelford a false result was announced before the counting was 
even finished. The whole village was taken in and rejoicings on quite an extensive scale were started. 
10 01 28 b & c 

1910 02 25 

A hurricane with winds of 80 mph caused considerable damage. Hoardings in Belmont Place, King 
Street, belonging to the Billposting Company were unable to withstand the onslaught of the wind and 
fell while a large elm tree opposite Trinity Fellows’ Garden was bespoiled of its top. At Ely Cathedral 
a window depicting St John the Baptist was damaged; the apostle’s head was blown out but falling 
upon the lawn, the glass was not broken. At St Ives the wind blew down the home signal on the 
railway line and caught the gable end of Mr Holloway’s music shop in Bridge Street, blowing off four 
yards of tiles. CWN 10 02 25a & b 

1910 03 11 

St Ives was shocked by the news of the sudden death of Horatio Wadsworth of the Mineral Water and 
Beer Bottling Works in Bridge Street. He was very much respected both as a citizen and an employer 
of labour. He attended the monthly meeting of the Masonic Lodge and walked home where he was 
immediately seized with an attack of faintness which ended 20 minutes later in death from heart 
failure. He was 45 years of age and leaves a widow, four girls and three boys. 10 03 1 lg 

1910 03 11 

On Tuesday evening a motor cycle with trailer came to a standstill on the Huntingdon Road near 
Oakington because of a puncture. It was dark but three cottages were close by, so the cyclist and his 

w'ww.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


passenger took the machine into the room of one of them to repair the damage. While searching for 
the puncture with the aid of a light, the petrol became ignited and the carpet and other contents of the 
room were damaged. Some of the occupants who had retired to rest hastily left their beds in alarm. 

The cyclist and his friend then proceeded to the Five Bells and the landlord drove them, cycle and 
trailer in a pig float back to St Ives. 10 03 1 li 

1910 04 01 

Boys attending Longstanton School accepted a challenge from Swavesey School for a football match. 
But on arrival they found a strong combination of larger boys from Swavesey, St Ives, Over and 
Houghton opposing them. An offer by Swavesey for them to discard their smaller boys for some of 
the spectators to make the teams more equal was dismissed by the little lads who determined to ‘stick 
to their own men’ . As expected Longstanton were beaten by nine goals to nil. Eight of the goals were 
scored by lads from Houghton and one by a lad from Over. The Longstanton juveniles have only been 
playing football for a month, a ball having been presented by the schoolmistress. 10 04 01b 

1910 04 08 

Mr C.P. Tebbutt of Bluntisham was a public speaker of exceptional gifts. He used few notes but never 
hesitated for a word or bungled a sentence. He spoke on the Gulf Stream, on earth worms and the 
drainage of the fens about which he was particularly conversant. He gave evidence to Royal 
Commissioners on topics including licensing saying that in Bluntisham there was one public house for 
every 50 persons and it was rare to see a man worse for drink. He carried out the widening of the 
Needingworth Road in St Ives, previously too narrow for the droves of cattle which came in from the 
fens ready for market. 10 04 08 

1910 09 02 

Mr R.J. Tollit, architect of Primrose Croft, Cambridge took his sister-in-law for a spin in his fore -car, 
a De Dion. They went as far as St Ives and had just got past the statue in the High Street when Mr C. 
Giddens of Hemingford Abbots came down the road from the opposite side driving a trap at a fair 
pace. There was plenty of room for both to pass. But they collided and Mr Tollit was sent flying under 
the horse’s feet. Before losing consciousness he managed to turn off the petrol and cut off the engine, 
thus averting a fire. This is the second similar accident which has befallen Mr Giddens recently. Last 
time his trap collided with the motor belonging to the Junior Bursar of Trinity College. 10 09 02c 

1910 09 16 

The past week has been marked by an unusual number of fatalities. At Huntingdon a poor woman in a 
fit of insanity cut the throat of her infant child and then committed suicide. At Littleport a little girl of 
six years of age was run over by a farm cart and killed. A Stansted carpenter was knocked down by an 
express train and the body of a St Ives man was found in the river at Huntingdon. The Over mail cart 
driver blew his nose and immediately fell to the ground dead, probably caused by the rupturing of a 
blood vessel in the brain 10 09 16c 

1910 11 25 

A somewhat alarming accident took place at St Ives station. An engine was shunting a number of 
cattle trucks from the loading-up siding and received the signal from the shunter to proceed on to the 
down main road. The signalman, however, had his points open to receive another engine and although 
he could see what would happen was unable to attract the driver’s attention. The trucks ran into the 
stop blocks at the end of the platform. The empty trucks were telescoped and raised on end causing 
considerable damage to the rolling stock. Fortunately there was little damage to the livestock, one cow 
being injured on the hip and a leg of a sheep broken. It was some hours before the side line could be 
cleared and the animals re -loaded into other trucks. 10 1 1 25 

1910 12 09 

All the low-lying land around Swavesey is under water. The roadway is completely submerged at the 
Swan Pond and foot passengers have to use the raised causeway, the gate openings in which are 
spanned by temporary bridges. Mr. J. Barnett, dealer of Fenstanton, came to grief when crossing with 

w'ww.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


a horse and cart. One wheel sunk into the recently filled-in trench and became embedded for some 
time. Previously a cow had sunk in the soft soil near the same place and was with great difficulty 
dragged out. The railway line to St Ives has been carefully watched by gangs of men armed with flag. 
10 12 09d 

1910 12 09 

A chauffeur in charge of a motor car had a very unpleasant experience. He was driving from St Ives to 
Fenstanton but when he had got to the White Bridge the water in the road was so deep that his engine 
stopped and he had to remain in the flood all night. PC Beecham saw the car with its powerful light 
just before two o’clock but did not think anything was amiss as the chauffeur did not sound his horn 
to attract attention. The car was discovered next morning and a horse had to be obtained to drag it out 
of the water. 10 12 09g 

1910 12 23 

The floods in Huntingdonshire are the worst for thirty years. The main road between Offord and 
Buckden was impassable and the Great North Road near Alconbury covered with two feet of water, 
entirely stopping motor car traffic. At St Ives water overflowed into the streets and backed up through 
the drains. The stabling at the White Horse Hotel yard was submerged and a motor car placed in a 
lock-up shed was found in a foot of water. The 38 houses on Victoria Terrace and along the London 
Road were cut off. while the railway at Fen Drayton level crossing was inundated, trains having to 
proceed at a very cautions pace. 10 12 23c 

1911 01 13 

It was recognised by musical men in St Ives that Arthur Giddins had a voice which, if properly 
trained, would be his fortune. So he placed himself in the hands of Joseph Reed of Trinity College 
Chapel, Cambridge, and after hard work became a tenor singer of no mean ability. Arthur obtained an 
appointment at Carlisle Cathedral where he has gained considerable fame and has now been appointed 
to a tenor lay clerkship in Manchester Cathedral. 1 1 01 13d 

1911 02 03 

Interesting developments have taken place in connection with the mysterious foreigner at St Ives 
Workhouse. The man was found on the road at Hilton but had kept his eyes closed and refused to give 
information about himself. The Guardians suggested the use of a galvanic battery might make him 
open his eyes and speak. The experiment was tried without success but the threat of a second dose had 
the desired effect. The man said he was a Lithuanian Russian and had left London ‘because police and 
soldiers were shooting Russian foreigners’. 1 1 02 03 

1911 02 10 

St Ives workhouse foreigner identified - 1 1 02 10 
1911 02 24 

Employees of the St Ives firms of Parker and Son steam printers and motor engineers celebrated the 
25th anniversary of the printing business. The cycle and motor department would increase and in a 
short time a large premises would be needed 1 1 02 24c 

1911 03 10 

There are still a number of houses at St Ives supplied by surface wells and after the late floods there 
were many cases of diarrhoea. In every case the water supply came from these surface wells. There is 
no doubt that the sewage is driven back by the rising water in the subsoil and contaminates the wells. 

It is fortunate that the drains were not infected with such a disease as typhoid or there would have 
been a bad epidemic. The wells should be inspected and if infected they should be closed, the Medical 
Officer reported. 11 03 lOe 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1911 09 01 

A practical joker drove into Wisbech in a powerful racing car and announced that Grahame -White, 
the famous airman would fly into the town that evening. A large crowd gathered in a field selected for 
the landing but there was a high wind blowing and it was announced he had landed at St Ives. The 
crowds reassembled next morning and scores of cameras were placed in position. But the news broke 
that the whole thing was a hoax. The man had circulated the same story at March and crowds of 
people also waited there 1 1 09 Olg 

1911 10 13 

St Ives Michaelmas horse fair was held in East Road and Quadrant. The fraternity were very much in 
evidence and shouting excitedly over prospective deals. These were not very numerous as business 
was very slow. There was much better attendance in the Cattle Markets but the trade for store stock 
was very slow owing to the shortage of keep and having to buy feeding stuffs at greatly-increased 
prices. The pleasure part of the fair, with the various shows, was quite as large as usual 11 10 13 

1912 01 05 

The need for a proper bathing place for St Ives has been discussed for years. Now a scheme had been 
formulated for acquiring a portion of the osier holt opposite the parish church with dressing sheds and 
a rustic bridge. The land had been offered by Mr Wright Ingle for £70. Some opposition was raised on 
the score of expense but this was silenced by the Mayor volunteering to pay any overspend out of his 
own pocket. An Inspector had visited the site and found it was flooded. However these floods never 
lasted more than three weeks, an enquiry was told. 12 01 05b 

1912 01 26 

The long-sustained wet weather and recent snowfall have brought serious floods. Rising waters have 
caused the stoppage of the chain ferries to Chesterton, the towing path under Victoria Bridge was 
submerged and meadows between Grantchester and Newnham are under water. A ride on the Great 
Eastern Railway from Huntingdon to Cambridge presents a view of an immense lake studded with 
trees and the large Portholme Meadow is under water to a considerable depth. At St Ives basements in 
Bridge Terrace and kitchens at Filbert’s Walk are flooded. 12 01 26b 

1912 02 02 

Dilley, Son & Read held their horse repository sale at St Ives when 130 animals came under the 
hammer. Judging now commences with the harness horses at 10 o’clock, the vanners and cart horses 
follow in order and the sale begins half an hour earlier. This alteration proved successful: the sale was 
well over in time for the buyers to get their horses loaded up by the two o’clock trains, getting the 
animals home that same afternoon. There was a large attendance and prices were most satisfactory 1 2 

02 02j 

1912 03 01 

St Ives licensed victuallers were told that under a new Act they had to give staff an afternoon off 
every week. In addition nobody could be employed for more than six hours without a break of at least 
20 minutes while three-quarters of an hour had to be allowed for dinner - or an hour if the meal was 
not taken on the premises. One man complained that he kept a roadside house and was in private 
employ. If he had to give his wife a half -holiday each week he would either have to shut the house up 
or lose a half-day’s work. 12 03 01 

1912 03 01 

A slight mishap occurred at the Milton level crossing when the down gate was smashed by the 6.05 
pm train from Cambridge to St Ives. Beyond the smashing of the gate and some slight damage to the 
brakes, due probably to the sudden stopping of the train, no damage was done. Immediately before 
this Chivers’ work-girls train had passed on the up line. The gateman said that earlier he had let 
through some sheep and the gates were securely fastened. But the down gate became opened in some 
way and was run into by the train. This is the fourth accident at this crossing in the last three years. 12 

03 Olf 

mvw.mikevettv.org.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1912 06 07 

Our little motor took us over a nice piece of tarred road towards Girton College but all too soon it 
ended and we were wending our way over some choice examples of the celebrated Cambridgeshire 
patches. Just outside Fenstanton a sudden improvement in the road surface was so marked that 1 
looked round to see the reason, and espied the post marking the county boundary. The reason was at 
once apparent - I had left Cambs and was now in Hunts. But an abrupt turn to the right took us on the 
road to St Ives, and I began to wonder if I was back in Cambridgeshire. 12 06 07a & b 

1912 08 02 

When the Women’s Suffrage Association held open-air meetings at Abington and Linton numbers 
attending were noticeably large in proportion to the size of the village and a good many have their 
names as ‘friends of Women’s Suffrage’. At St Ives a meeting was held on the Market Place where 
about 300 listened with sympathetic attention to Miss H. Frazer, a well-known speaker for the cause 
who has come to help in Suffrage propaganda. She also addressed a similar meeting at Huntingdon 
where a large and orderly crowd of men showed deep interest and a resolution in favour of women’s 
suffrage was passed without a single dissentient 1 2 08 02 c d 

1912 08 30 

Floods Swavesey, Cottenham, Royston, Melbourn, Arrington, Histon, St Ives - 12 08 30h 
1912 09 27 

St Ives workhouse flooding - 1 2 09 27h 

1912 10 18 

St Ives Midsummer Fair, Swavesey Swan Pond horse - 12 10 181 

1913 02 07 

A shocking double tragedy occurred at St Ives when the landlady of the Temperance Hotel, Market 
Hill and a German lodger were found in a room of the hotel, both stabbed through the heart. It seems 
she had been murdered and the man had committed suicide. They were discovered by the maid who 
returned from a cinema show to find the hotel in darkness. The landlady had separated from her 
husband and the German worked at the chicory factory at Fenstanton. They had been seen at a 
theatrical performance in the Com Exchange and seemed on the best of terms 1 3 02 07 p8 CIP. 

1913 02 28 
St Ives murder case 

1913 03 24 

Swavesey parish council discussed the late disastrous fire. The village engine was in good working 
order, but the pipes were defective. The landlord of The Swan presented a bill for 13 shillings for beer 
supplied to the fire fighters. They must pay the 31 men who had fought the fire to get them to work 
again if required. A number had left the Swavesey fire engine and worked on the St Ives one instead. 
13 03 24 p5 CIP 

1913 04 04 

St Ives schoolboy’s death allegations against teacher unfounded 
1913 04 11 

The Hundred Foot River was in a deplorable condition and had not been cleaned out for over 40 
years, causing flooding in St Ives. The damage caused has in recent years substantially increased. 

1913 05 09 

St Ives workhouse inquiry 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1913 06 06 

Captain Heal, Lacon’s bankruptcy examination - took pubs to increase business; Black Swan, Sidar. 
Victoria Bar Newmarket & White Horse St Ives 

1913 06 06 

The former manager of Lacon’s Cambridge Brewery told the bankruptcy court he had purchased 
licensed houses as ventures on his own account as a way of increasing the brewery’s business. But the 
Black Swan and the Sirdah in Cambridge lost money, as did the Victoria Bar in Newmarket and the 
White Horse at St Ives. He was a Town Councillor and Guardian and had been extravagant 13 06 06 
p9 CIP 

1913 06 13 

An Elsworth poulterer testified that he came out of the Dolphin Yard, St Ives, paid two pence for the 
toll and asked the gatekeeper to let him through. But the man refused, claiming he’d owed another 
eight pence for arrears. So he gently pushed the gate open at which the keeper threatened to strike 
him. He had been through the gate for some years. He did not owe eight pence but there was two 
pence owing for a pig he took through for a Mr Braybrook. The man had no right to shut the gate after 
the toll had been paid, any arrears should be recovered in court. 13 06 13 p9 CIP 

1913 06 13 

The new St Ives bathing place was opened with considerable eclat, the Town Band playing an 
excellent programme of music. It has been constructed on the osier holt with an inlet from the main 
river and an outlet in the back water, ensuring a constant running stream. It is provided with cubicles 
and attendant’s offices and is approached by an ornamental bridge near the church. The proceedings 
concluded with a water polo match 13 06 13 pl2 CIP 

1913 06 27 

St Ives theft of handcart * 

1913 07 25 

St Ives indecent post cards 
1913 08 15 

St Ives football club a/m 
1913 08 22 

Albion fishing match, St Ives 
1913 10 24 

St Ives as holiday resort 

1913 11 14 

The Bovril airship encountered a strong headwind while passing over St Ives and the pilots decided to 
land. But it was impossible to bring the machine to earth. Repeated efforts were made to descend but 
the airship refused to answer to the landing gear and they were compelled to remain aloft in a wind 
sufficiently strong to render the situation distinctly dangerous. It was not until within six miles of 
Cambridge that they were at length able to come to ground. The pilots set it down to some 
extraordinary atmospheric phenomena which cannot be explained. 13 1114 p8 CIP 

1914 02 06 

Joseph Jillings, 89, was one of those unfortunate persons who were burned out in the great Swavesey 
fire of March 1913 and, being in a very feeble state of health and having no relatives to look after 
him, was removed to St Ives infirmary. He was the oldest parishioner and returned to the village 20 
years ago after many years as a gentleman’s servant. Through the generosity of the Vicar collections 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


were made so that the old man’s desire that he should not be buried by the parish could be complied 
with. 14 02 06g 

1914 07 03 

Lightning strikes houses Histon, St Ives, Kingston, Toft, Comberton, Wimpole, Elsworth 
1914 07 10 

Bradley’s teeth: 27 years steadily increasing reputation. Time has proved Bradley’s Teeth to be 
satisfactory right from the beginning. If you require Artificial Teeth send for a free book to F.W. 
Bradley who attends at Llandaff Chambers, 4 Regent Street on Mondays and Saturdays. Also at 
Thompson’s chemist Fore Hill Ely, W.H. Clayton’s saddler Huntingdon, G.A. Smith’s St Ives and 
Bobby’s chemists at Soham: advertisement 

1914 10 09 

Indecent postcards St Ives 
1914 10 30 

At St Ives a lady and gentlemen were making themselves efficient as revolver shots in view of the 
threatened invasion. A target was placed on a wooden shed and the practice proceeded well until a 
loud crash was heard. Investigations showed their shots had gone through the two sides of the 
building, across another 25 ft of ground and through a thick door into a quantity of glass windows 
stored in a brick building. Cattle Market requisitioned for military. 

1914 11 20 

St Ives yeomanry depart 
1914 12 11 

At the opening of the new Sutton Wesleyan Chapel the Rev Bryant said he felt ashamed that people 
had previously been worshiping in a building whose ceiling has to be kept together by large planks. 
The new one was an imposing structure seating 300 people designed by Mr Fovargue of March and 
built by Mr Giddens of St Ives 

1914 12 25 

St Ives Rifle Range accident, lad killed 
1914 12 25 

Jane Pegg, wife of an Impington coal merchant, said she saw a man at Histon station wearing a blue 
overcoat similar to the greatcoats of the Belgian soldiers. He told he was from Hills Road Hospital; 
he’d been wounded at Liege where his father was killed by his side. Felling sorry, she’d given him a 
meal and invited him to stay for the weekend. But really he was a butcher from St Ives. The lad said 
he’d return to his mother and promise to be a good boy. But he was sent to prison with hard labour. 

1917 02 28 

Consistory court orders removal of two altars at All Saints’ Church St Ives for devotional purposes in 
connection with war - 17 02 28a 

1918 01 23 

Record floods due heavy fall of snow, Jan 15-16; commons covered; Sawston, Ickleton, St Ives - 18 
01 23a 

1920 11 15 

War memorials unveiled on Armistice Sunday - St Giles, Histon & Impington, St Ives, Waterbeach 
1922 06 15 

Messrs W. Heffer and Sons have become well known for the excellence of anything exhibited at their 
Sidney Street galleries. Well above the standard of the rest of their exhibits is some of the truly 

mvw.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


wonderful work of a Scottish artist, Mr William Watt Milne, who has a studio in St Ives. The six 
pictures which are exhibited have been painted in the neighbourhood of Houghton. "Flood at 
Houghton" is the title of a pretty little piece of work depicting the picturesque village street on a grey 
day with the threatening sky reflected in a pool of water in the foreground. One of the best pictures is 
that called "The Old Inn at Houghton", a superb piece of work 

1922 08 09 

Salvationists in Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire were greatly heartened during the holiday 
weekend by a visit from Mrs Booth, the beloved wife of the General, who addressed a series of 
meetings in several of the towns and villages which come in what is known as the Northampton 
Division. Mrs Booth made her tour in a motor car kindly lent and driven by Councillor H. Franklin of 
Cambridge. At all the meeting places large crowds had assembled and along the roads through which 
the cars passed not only Salvationists but many others came to the doors or stopped at their work to 
wave their hand to Mrs General Booth. Although it is a very long time since any Salvation Army 
gathering was held in St Ives there was a very large muster on the Market-hill to welcome her. 

1922 08 19 

Cambridge visitors to St Ives are doubtless familiar with the old town clock on Messrs R. Kiddle & 
Son's premises in Bridge-street. This clock, which was erected by public subscription about 120 years 
ago, will have to be removed in consequence of the discovery that the premises have become unsafe. 

A special meeting of the Town Council was held to consider what should be done about the clock. 
There was a natural desire not to lose an old landmark which helps the town to retain its old-time 
character, but with so many other clocks about and finances so tight as they are today, the Council felt 
they could not sanction the expense of repair 

1924 01 11 

St Ives electricity p3 

1924 02 19c 

The inhabitants of St Ives were horror-struck upon hearing the rumour that the Vicar of Hemingford 
Grey had been cut to pieces on the railway bridge at Hemingford Abbotts. Shortly afterwards the story 
was proved beyond doubt, the remains of the reverend gentleman being conveyed to the vicarage. It is 
supposed he was making a visit to Houghton to arrange for some special Lenten services and when on 
the bridge was knocked down by a pilot engine 

1924 02 22c 

At a meeting at St Ives to discuss the Ouse Drainage order Mr Wheeler said there was a vast 
difference in draining lands below sea level and those above. The test was a simple one. If you took 
all the fens works away, the fens would suffer, but St Ives would not; therefore the work was for the 
benefit of the fen land. But the scheme proposed that the uplands should first of all pay for works 
done in their own district, and in additional pay towards all the works done in the fens whose works 
were obstructing the flow of our water out to the sea 

1924 02 23c 

An alarming outbreak of fire occurred at Miss Bluffs premises in Crown Street, St Ives. It appears 
that the chimney caught fire and was allowed to burn itself out but an hour later flames were seen 
issuing from the top window. Attaching their hose to the hydrant at Bridge Street the firemen soon 
had a plentiful supply of water pouring on the fire which was extinguished, but not before it had 
spread to the top floor of Mr Fred Norris’ house. Fortunately there was scarcely any wind to fan the 
flames otherwise the block of buildings between Crown Street and Merryland would no doubt have 
been involved. Supt Gale and several constables kept the crowd back from hampering the firemen. 

1924 03 23c 

A wooden barn containing a straw stack was completely destroyed by fire on the farm of Mess Tebbit 
Bros, at Toft. Mr William Hellier of St Ives had tried to telephone the Borough Fire Brigade, but 

mvw.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


could not get them. He motored to Cambridge and met the Brigade as he was entering the town. It 
appears that someone else had continued to try to telephone, and had done so after 20 minutes waiting 

1924 04 30c 

There has been considerable indignation caused in St Ives by the town council’s proposals to purchase 
the residential property known as Stanley House on the Market Hill for £1,200 & to convert the same 
into a town hall and offices. It is felt by the majority of the ratepayers that the building is not suitable 
for such a purpose, and that the cost of converting it and the upkeep afterwards will entail a very 
heavy expenditure on the rates. This scheme has therefore amassed a very strong opposition on the 
part of several of the most influential men of the town, including medical men and solicitors. A 
memorial has been drawn up and signed by nearly 960. 

1924 06 01c 

An Italian organ grinder was charged with assaulting Herbert Ager, organ grinder at St Ives. He 
pleaded guilty. Ager said he travelled the country with a young man from Hammersmith who had lost 
both arms. They had an organ. He was in Crown Street tuning his organ and while he was so doing 
defendant came up and hit him. Defendant said he hit the fellow because he had been playing in the 
town on Monday and then began again on Tuesday. He could not get any money when the other one 
was playing 

1924 07 02c 

Abbey United Football Club’s record for the first three seasons of its existence is one of which they 
are justifiably proud. After winning Div.III and Div.II of the Cambs League in successive seasons, the 
club finished last season runners-up to St Ives in Div.I and failed to do the “hat trick” by a single point 

1924 10 27c 

The new Town Hall at St Ives was formally opened by the Mayor. The imposing building is in the 
centre of the Market place. Aid. Warren said that it was 50 years since the Borough was incorporated. 
He was pleased the council had never allowed politics or religion to divide them and he hoped they 
would continue to carry on the old traditions and not conduct their debates in any acrimonious 
manner. 

1924 11 24c 

The death occurred at his residence, Devonshire Road, Cambridge of Mr William Saint. Born at St 
Ives in 1851 he came to Cambridge and started business as a builder in Hooper Street. In 188 he 
transferred to St Barnabas Road where the present works are situated and in 1918 it was turned into a 
limited company. A flourishing concern has now been built up, but the builders’ strike in the early 
months of this year had a serious effect and gave him a great deal of worry & hastened his end 

1925 02 13 

The Bill to electrify Cambs., Beds & Hunts comes before Parliament this session. A great generating 
station will be erected at Lt Barford. At first they propose to develop the central area including St 
Neots, St Ives and Ely & to give a supply in bulk to Cambridge and Newmarket. To help the electrical 
development of the railways it is proposed to link up with the transmission lines of the North 
Metropolitan Electric Power Supply Company and to afford a supply to the main railway lines within 
the area 

1925 04 18 

When attempting to pass one of Messrs Course’s St Ives motor buses near the New Inn, Swavesey, 

Mr James Tanfield who was riding a Douglas motor cycle combination collided with a telegraph post. 
The bus had been keeping in the centre of the road, and in trying to pass he ran his cycle on to the 
grass roadside, the wheel of the sidecar remaining on the road. The front wheel ran into a draining 
grip and caused the machine to collide with the post. 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1925 10 19 

A comprehensive scheme for the provision of parking places in Cambridge will be laid before the 
Town Council who are empowered to authorise any part of a street as a parking place, though no 
charge can be made for parking cars in the public streets. Sites include Trumpington Street opposite 
the Leys School, Maids’ Causeway, Lensfield Road, King Street & Jesus Lane. In Pound Hill it is 
proposed to allocate space for parking motor buses from St Neots and St Ives 

1926 02 26 

Sir - as a business man obliged to use the railways I wish to draw attention to the lack of punctuality 
of trains from the St Ives branch at Cambridge station. The 8.25 pm is invariably anything from a 
quarter to half-an-hour late, generally waiting ten minutes at Mill Road bridge whilst room is being 
found to run up to the platform. There is a rumour that the Ortona Motor Bus Company is shortly 
linking up with the National Bus Company at St Ives. The railway companies grumble about road 
transport competition, but it is their own fault and they have a remedy by being more punctual with 
the passenger service - H.G. Parker 

1926 05 03 

Cambridge is the administrative centre for East Anglia for the arrangements being made to meet the 
National Strike emergency. Mr F. Morris Warren of St Ives is the district coal officer. There are three 
Food Officers who will deal with complaints relating to the supply of provisions. The big job of the 
moment is the securing and registering of volunteers willing to help in any way with the maintenance 
of essential services and supplies with a recruiting office in the Guildhall. The Mayor of Cambridge, 
Aid Edward O. Brown, said: “Today we stand on the edge of an important crisis in the history of our 
nation. A dark cloud is overshadowing the life of our people. I appeal to all our people to prepare for 
sacrifice, and remain steady. God grant it may be averted” 

1926 05 17 

St Ives Town Council expressed feelings of profound relief at the cessation of the General Strike. St 
Ives had responded nobly in voluntary service and all classes had loyally carried out any duty required 
of them. None of the council employees relinquished their duty and no single case of lawlessness or 
friction had occurred in the town. The committee of ladies who had supplied refreshments at all hours, 
night and day, to transport drivers should be especially mentioned. 

1926 06 12 

St Ives Housing Committee heard reports on defective houses. One house in Wellington Street was so 
dilapidated that a demolition order was necessary. A large heap of manure had accumulated in a hovel 
at the back and outside buildings were in a dilapidated condition. It was difficult to deal with 
properties which were defective when it was known that the owners were not in a flourishing financial 
condition. There was not the slighted doubt that the housing problem was a serious one. It was 
imperative to do something for people who could not pay high rents. 

1926 09 10 

St Ives Council River Committee reported that a cross head had given way at the Staunch, wrecking 
one of the gates and causing a fall in the river; repairs had been carried out. They communicated with 
Mr Simpson, the owner who replied: “There seems to be some misunderstanding. Your council rent 
the staunch which comprises the lock and pen. In times gone by the lock had only one pair of gates 
(the second being put in when the navigation was restored about 1850). The barges came up the river 
and made fast just above the pen and flood gates; the gates of the pen were then shut and the flood 
gates lowered, and when sufficient water had come down the boats proceeded to the next lock. Would 
the council care to buy the whole structure? They would then not have to spend money on other 
people’s property” 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1927 06 15 c 

Cambridge station had a very busy weekend. Over 4,000 travelled on Saturday to visit the 
Midsummer Fair. Extra carriages were attached to all incoming and outgoing trains and late special 
trains were run to Haverhill, Newmarket, St Ives and Great Chesterford. 

1927 08 09 

A butcher’s shop belonging to the late Mr Fred Harrison of St Ives, with house, domestic offices & 
slaughter house was auctioned. Bidding started at £500 and quickly rose to £950; the Peterborough 
Co-operative Society eventually securing it for £1,000. A freehold old-fashioned thatched cottage at 
Hemingford Grey, the property of Mr A.V. Woods, was sold for £330 
1927 10 01 

St Ives RDC recommended a bonus of £50 be paid to collectors for the Somersham and St Ives 
districts. Mr J.L. Barton, speaking against the proposal, said that on a previous occasion he stated that 
University men were willing to take the position at 50 shillings a week. Things were no different 
today. He knew a case of a Cambridge University man who was so pleased with an offer of 50 
shillings a week as a milkman that he was taking it. 

1927 11 30 

The annual concert and prize distribution of Slepe Hall School took place in the Corn Exchange, St 
Ives when a large gathering enjoyed a delightful programme of music provided by the staff and 
pupils. The certificates and prizes won by the girls were distributed by the Principal of Homerton 
College. She urged parents not to withdraw their girls, whenever possible, until the end of their school 
time, as a completed education was more necessary than ever in the new world and urged the girls to 
choose something for their future life which might be to them a vocation, no matter how bold such an 
enterprise might seem. 

1928 01 05 

The rapid thaw has caused one of the worst floods at St Ives for many years. Low-lying parts of the 
town are flooded. The scene at the old bridge was a magnificent one as the ice on the river broke up 
into huge masses and hurled themselves with considerable force against the old buttresses, becoming 
piled up for many feet. The iron railway bridge near Enderby’s was only a few inches higher than the 
water level. Wadsworth’s steps and Mr Day’s boathouse were washed away and some of the boats 
damaged. The floods extended for many miles. 

1928 05 30 

The work of repairing the fabric of St Ives parish church, which was seriously damaged by a British 
aeroplane on 23rd March 1918 having been completed, a service of thanksgiving was held. The 
Bishop of Ely said it was hard that the burden of repairing a church should fall upon our generation, 
but we inherited these priceless treasures from those who had made sacrifices in days gone by. About 
£600 was still required for rehanging the bells and replacing the clock 

1928 06 16 

St Ives Fire Brigade was called to a surprise false alarm. The engineer was at the Brigade Station in 
3‘/2 minutes, the captain was on the scene in uniform in four minutes and one hose was soon playing 
on the building. Two hoses were then tried but the force of water was quite inadequate, only reaching 
about 20 feet. The manual engine was put on the Quayside but it was found that the present fire 
engine would not be of any use in case of a fire. A demonstration should take place with the steam 
engine offered for sale to the council. 

1929 01 23 

Caxton Rural Council received a letter from the Beds. Cambs. and Hunts Electricity Company 
seeking permission to fix an overhead wire from St Ives to Eltisley. The line would go through Hilton 
and Papworth and be a great boon. Mr Moss asked if the wires would be high enough to clear a man 
on a loaded cart. He had seen the wires near Cambridge and they seemed very low. The Chairman 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


said this was a matter for the owners of the land. He pointed out that it was the top wire that was the 
dangerous once, and the lower ones were merely guards. 

1929 11 28 

An amazing story was told at Huntingdon police court when a woman was charged with obtaining 
goods and money by false pretences. Edward Elphick, house furnisher of Huntingdon, said she had 
paid with a cheque that was returned marked ‘No account’. Albert Bigmore, jeweller of Ramsey told a 
similar story. Police said she had made many untruthful statements. She came here about a year ago 
from Essex where she left her husband and four children and lived at Warboys with another man. She 
then moved to Wistow, Woodhurst, St Ives and Houghton before taking a cottage at Hartford. 
Wherever she lived she left behind debts and non-payment of rent. She wrote many letters to herself 
which purported to be from her uncle promising large sums of money and a motor car. She also 
claimed to be the widow of a naval officer. None of these were true. 

1930 01 17 

The R100 airship which made a long flight from Cardington in fog was seen as a fleeting but 
fascinating object over Swavesey. Emerging from the mist like a spectre of the sky, the giant vessel 
attracted admiring attention as the sun glinted on her silvery nose, which, approaching head-on, was 
turned into the semblance of a full moon. She circled round the locality before disappearing in the fog 
in the direction of St Ives. 30 01 17 

1930 04 15 

The new manager of the Broadway Kinema, St Ives, said he intended to put on most up-to-date films 
of a topical character, the ‘talkies’ were also to be introduced. But the presiding magistrate said: “We 
want superior films in St Ives, not so many murders and tragedies; something in the natural history 
line or travel pictures”. The manager promised to bear this in mind and he fancied it would not be 
long before he knew the tastes of local people. 30 04 15c 

1930 06 10 

The new motor fire engine at St Ives was called out for the first time to a blaze in some outbuildings 
at Colne. But neighbours rallied round and by the time the brigade arrived the fire was under control. 
The damage included the burning of two young calves. 30 06 10b 

1930 09 03 

Huntingdon & Godmanchester Councils are to purchase Houghton, Hemingford & Godmanchester 
Locks together with Houghton Mill whilst St Ives have acquired the Staunch. They again have control 
of the locks and the chance of putting them into a proper state of repair. The town depended entirely 
on the river for its sanitation and it was essential to keep a good head of water in the river. The 
vendor, Mr Leonard Simpson says he regrets that his personal connection with the river that he loves 
will be severed. 30 09 03a & b 

1931 01 20 

St Ives council discussed an application for the interment of a reverend gentleman in the grounds of 
Madeley Court, Hemingford Grey. The Minster of Health has approved it provided that only one 
burial took place. The gentleman concerned was not yet dead but they had no power to stop the burial, 
however much they objected. 31 01 20e 

1931 04 10 

St Ives residents are concerned they will be deprived of the use of their river this summer because of 
engineering repairs at the stanch. The continued low water is not only ruinous to the boating industry 
but will also affect the acreage under osiers. At present the engineers had only put in a pair of fen 
gates, which was the easiest task of the lot. They should leave the remainder of the work until autumn. 
But very soon repairs would be started at Hemingford Lock. 31 04 lOg 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1931 04 17 

St Ives town council has been awarded a site for the building to be called ‘The Norris Library’ which 
is to house a collection of Huntingdonshire topography, pictures and antiques collected by the late 
H.E. Norris. At his home in Chichester he had a room crowed with pictures, relics and literature. He 
was a man of great literary attainments and one of the finest chess players in England. The council 
recorded their gratitude and appreciation and stood for a moment of silence in tribute to his memory. 
3104 17b 

1931 06 12 

It was a very gentle earthquake in Cambridge: suddenly in the silence of a calm and tranquil night 
there came a mysterious, slow, oscillatory motion, quickening and increasing in intensity. It seemed 
as if a giant hand had seized the bed and was shaking it, gently but with irresistible might. A 
washstand was overturned at Comberton but houses were rocked at Ely where some of the 
foundations were heard to crack. At St Ives people sought refuge on the Market Hill and could not be 
induced to return to bed. 31 06 12c&d&e 

1931 09 04 

Market day at St Ives was the worst experience for many years owing to foot and mouth disease 
restrictions. Tradespeople particularly felt the pinch. Ordinarily the market would have opened at 
midnight on Sunday but a few hours before the Spaldwick outbreak was reported and that meant no 
cattle could be allowed to enter the auction. 3 1 09 04g 

1931 12 04 

The Broadway Kinema, St Ives is much better kept than before. The licence was renewed but the 
manager’s attention was called to the badly-lit exits from the balcony of the cinema. Mr Glazier said 
that in the future he hoped to show more educational films. 31 12 041 

1931 12 25 

St Ives tramps complained that their food and clothing had been gnawed by rats in the workhouse. But 
the Master said if they carried food in their clothing it was obvious that the rats would go for it at 
night. It was their fault as they left their clothes on the floor instead of hanging them up. He had shot 
30 rats during the last month and there had been no trouble during the past three days. 31 12 25d 

1932 01 08 

Fire damaged St Ives Chicory Factory. Five Belgians, specialist chicory driers are employed, and at 
four in the morning one found the first floor was on fire. Flames spread through the silo to the 
elevator and to the second and third drying floors. Extensive damage was wrought amongst costly 
machinery. Arrangements had been made to increase the size of the building but these may now be 
delayed. Chicory is constantly being dried and on account of the terrific heat the danger of fire is 
always very real. 32 01 08 

1932 03 29 

People attending the St Ives grass track motor cycle races gathered around the arena in anticipation of 
a pleasant afternoon’s sport and the engines began to buzz for the first heat when down came the rain. 
The riders valiantly continued to plough their way round to the finishing post, churning up mud many 
feet high. Machines and riders were practically obliterated under a steady stream of earth and the 
announcer was the only one to discern who was who. 32 03 29 

1932 04 18 

The entire confectionery department of Messrs H.G. Stiles’ bakery at St Ives was totally destroyed by 
fire. For two hours the bakery, which contained tons of sugar, flour and a quantity of tea, blazed 
furiously. At one time the destruction of the shop and tea rooms appeared likely but fortunately it was 
separated by a thick wall and firemen managed to contain the outbreak. 32 04 18 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1932 05 19 

Some of the former spirit of the quaint St Ives custom of throwing dice for Bibles was recaptured 
when for the first time in 30 years a service was held in the church afterwards and the Vicar presented 
the bibles at the foot of the chancel. The custom used to take place in the church on the communion 
table. Twelve children had been selected, but three failed to present themselves so councillors acted in 
their stead. 32 05 19 

1932 09 02 

St Ives workhouse took in 693 casuals during the month, compared to 309 last August, including 19 
women and ten children who had been fruit picking with their parents. It was unusual for girls of this 
age to be tramping. They have been made too comfortable and preferred such institutions to lodging- 
houses. They were supposed to pay for their keep but the men hid their belongings so it was difficult 
to know what they owned. 32 09 02a 
1932 09 02 

Practical jokers have been at work again on the statue of Oliver Cromwell on the Market Hill at St 
Ives. This time a yo-yo was attached to the pointing finger of his outstretched arm and was the cause 
of much amusement. Poor Oliver! Of recent years he has been adorned with objects ranging from beer 
bottles to a loaf of bread but this latest prank seems to be the most topical yet. 32 09 02d 

1932 09 16 

A well-known St Ives figure has been removed by the death of Mr Frederick Whaley, aged 80. He 
served in local banks becoming sub-manager with Messrs Foster which was taken over by the Capital 
and Counties and then Lloyds. He was a total-abstainer and non-smoker who filled every office at the 
Wesleyan Chapel. He always went abroad to escape the winter but declared that ‘St Ives was the best 
place on earth between Easter and Christmas’. 32 09 16a 

1932 10 28 

St Ives magistrates were told that twelve months ago five persons by the name of Topper were ejected 
from a house and the Vicar of St Ives had kindly allowed them to use the parson’s house at 
Woodhurst on the understanding that it should be vacated on request. They took a lot of furniture with 
them and two or three rooms were so ‘bunged up’ they could not be used. The resident clergyman, 
who acted as curate, had lived in the house with them for six months but now desired complete 
possession. 32 10 28 

1933 02 09 

Cambridge has lost an old-established tailor by the death of Mr Byron Thomas Wait of Mill Road. His 
father was a tailor at St Ives but Byron came to Cambridge 52 years ago and opened the shop in Hills 
Road. Thirty-five years ago he extended the business to the shop at 28 Mill Road and four years later 
to 100 Regent Street. Two of his sons are carrying on the business. 33 02 09b 

1933 02 10 

St Ives Chicory Factory wished to increase its supply of water to 50,000 gallons a day for the whole 
season. If the supply was cut of for two or three days it would not be an inconvenience. They would 
erect a pumping station and put down a filter plant on their property. East Hunts Water Company will 
be asked how much they are able to supply without detriment to the Borough. 33 02 10a 

1933 06 08 

St Ives water scheme - 33 06 08a 
1933 09 22 

The Norris Library and Museum at St Ives was opened with full civic pride. Herbert Norris’s 
collection of manuscripts and books was unique; there was nothing printed in the world concerning 
Huntingdonshire that was not there and it should become a county museum. The architect, Mr Inskip 
Ladds was congratulated. The council had also carried out improvements to the Waits and made new 
flower beds. 33 09 22 

mvw.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1933 10 21 

St Ives Public Assistance Institution, which is now closed, could be converted into a home for 
wayfarers. It would take men aged 18-21 off the roads and try to improve their characters. They’d be 
subjected to regular work and discipline but have recreation in the form of a club. The Vicar said he 
was constantly picking up men on the road, often young fellows who never had the chance to work. 
Being near Cambridge it would give undergraduates the opportunity of doing real social service in the 
vacations. 33 10 21 

1934 01 05 

A new branch of Huntingdonshire county library was opened by the Lord Lieutenant in a room in the 
municipal building at St Ives. It had been made possible through a grant from the Carnegie Trust and 
would prove of great benefit to the town. The chain of county libraries was now complete. Two 
libraries had now opened in St Ives within a few months; they now had a lending library and the 
specialised Norris Library at the new Museum. 34 01 05 

1934 01 12 

St Ives may have a miniature lido on an islet in the river following the gift of two pieces of land 
known as Anchor Holt and Grace Holt by Mr Wright Ingle. The land was currently used for the 
cultivation of osiers but could be improved by erecting a footbridge. Flower beds and shrubs could be 
planted using unemployed labour at very little expense to provide something of which they could be 
proud. It should be renamed ‘Ingle Holt’. 34 01 12 

1934 02 09 

Permission has been granted for the removal of swans on the river between Brownshill and 
Hemingford Staunches. There were not less than 250 and they did a great deal of damage to fish. St 
Ives Angling Society should be asked to destroy the cygnets on their portion of the river. But they 
should not go in for wholesale destruction because the swans were a pretty sight and people 
appreciated them, said Councillor Coote. 34 02 09 

1934 04 06 

The automatic waters sprinklers fitted at Messrs Enderby’s mill at St Ives prevented a serious blaze. 
Fire broke out in a room on the first floor but within a quarter of an hour it was extinguished without 
human aid. Immediately a certain temperature was reached a safety valve was released and water 
rained on the blaze from all angles. At the same time a bell was set ringing which was heard all over 
the town. The mill is a printing works and a large stock of cardboard and paper was damaged chiefly 
by water. 34 04 06 

1934 06 08 

St Ives market is only a shadow of its former self due to the depression in agriculture. A good many of 
the old farmers and dealers have passed away and there are none to take their place. Sales in shops 
had also dropped since the coming of the motor car as there was a tendency for people to go to large 
centres. Buses come in from villages but leave again after ten minutes which was no good for trade, 
the Mayor told a meeting at which forty prominent business men formed a Traders’ Association. 34 
06 08 

1934 06 08 

Bus effects mergers - St Ives route - Wheatley - 34 06 08 
1934 08 08 

Constable C. Hine of St Ives police and his young lady friend, Miss Lily Wilkinson of Hartford, 
embarked in a punt at Huntingdon for a quiet afternoon on the river. But a stiff breeze resisted the 
progress of the boat as it neared the arches of the bridge and PC Hine seized a chain hanging from the 
stonework. At once a distressing situation developed: man and craft parted company, the policeman 
was left dangling in the water while the punt with its alarmed occupant, drifted away. Then a second 
mm’.mikevetrwore.uk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


punt, manned by two ladies rescued him from undignified plight, a reunion was affected and a car 
despatched for dry garments. 34 08 08 

1934 08 24 

Some 750 young anglers assembled on Parker’s Piece and were played to the station by the band of 
the Boys’ Brigade to catch a special train to St Ives to take part in the Albion Angling Society’s 
annual fishing match for youngsters. The miniature army of anglers disported themselves along the 
river bank at Hemingford meadows. It was not unusual to see gathered in one small space at least half 
a dozen children with lines and rods crossed and floats completely submerged. The winners of the 
President’s cup for the best catch were F. Parr (boys) and Marjorie Benton (girls). 34 08 24 

1934 09 06 

At Sawston leather works the sheep skins used are mainly from New Zealand and Australia but the 
finest come from St Ives. When the skins get to the factory from the butcher they are fleshed and then 
split in two. The outer one is made into handbags and hat-bands, the inner into chamois leather for 
window-cleaning leathers and gloves - many of the factory employees take them home and do the 
sewing there. The skin trimmings are moved to the Granta works at Stapleford and processed into 
sheets of gelatine. 34 09 06 

1935 03 22 

The new motor tug ‘Sheldrake’, which has been built for the Great Ouse Catchment Board for use in 
the Wash, took advantage of the seasonal rise in the water to travel from King’s Lynn to St Ives 
towing a string of barges to collect osiers for the East Stone Bank contract. It is the first time for 20 
years that a vessel of this kind as been seen as far up-river. The last vessel to carry a cargo through St 
Ives arrived in August 1915 with potatoes. 35 03 22a 

1935 02 22 

The Great Ouse River Board has reconstructed the century-old locks and sluice at Over so that one of 
their big steam dredgers can pass through. It is now dredging a channel with a minimum depth of 3ft 
6ins through to St Ives. All the locks are now in order as far as Godmanchester but it will be some 
time before a deep channel can be dredged all that way. A great deal of spoil has to be removed from 
the river. 35 02 22a 

1935 04 26 

An inquiry was held at St Ives into proposals to build a public convenience in White Hart Lane. The 
market was important, bringing many people to the town and such a building was necessary. But Mrs 
Saint considered it would devalue her property in East Street and Mr Skeels, who owns two houses in 
the Quadrant, thought the council should utilise some of the land lying idle in the present market 
place. The Town Clerk said this would be unsightly. 35 04 26 

1935 07 09 

Roy Godfrey, son of the Swavesey Haulage Contractor, has been awarded an autographed Hobbs bat 
for his fine all-round performance in the ‘News Chronicle’ cricket competition for schoolboys. 

Playing for St Ives Grammar School he scored 46 runs and took six wickets for eight runs. He also 
took a difficult catch off a fast rising ball. Roy’s performance is remarkable, as he lost his right arm as 
a result of an accident when he was five years old 35 07 09a 

1935 08 22 

With rods and a look that combined gladness and determination, a children’s army a thousand strong 
gathered on Parker’s Piece, intent on getting their fish. A free outing to St Ives, an afternoon’s fishing, 
a tea, sports and prizes was arranged by the Albion Angling Society. Ice-cream men did a roaring 
trade and one enterprising draper sold a number of Panama hats before the quarter-mile long 
procession set off for the station headed by the band of the Boys’ Brigade. The children’s match was 
started about 30 years ago but stopped during the war and was not revived until 1928 or 1929. 35 08 
22a 

w'ww.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1935 09 10 

St Ives staunch collapse - photo - 35 09 10 
1935 09 14 

St Ives police station is entirely inadequate and unsatisfactory, the Chief Constable reported. Two 
adjoining cottages could be bought and pulled down for an Inspector’s house or there was a very good 
site known as Bible Orchard for an entirely new station. But Alderman Tebbitt did not think they were 
justified in spending money and that the present court room was quite adequate 35 09 14a 

1935 09 14 

St Ives Institution is empty and its condition getting worse every month. The roof was dangerous and 
two wings were bad but the children’s ward and front part of the institution were fairly satisfactory. 
The Public Assistance Committee are apposed to it being used again as a children’s home but it might 
be converted into six or eight homes houses for workers. They would be easy to let as there are 
hundreds of applications for houses 35 09 14c 

1935 12 14 

St Ives rowing - 35 12 14 

1936 02 04 

Widespread flooding occurred at Huntingdon and St Ives which one motorist says looks like an 
island. The water in the Old West is within eight inches of the top of the bank and these are being 
heightened with clay on the low places. There is also heavy seepage on the Wissey, all along the 
Middle Fen banks, at Southery Ferry and the River Lark. All hanks are being patrolled by day and 
night with tugs and barges in readiness to deal with any emergency. 36 02 04b 

1936 06 12 

St Ives council discussed the possible development of the Ingle Holt, a small island in the main river 
which had been a gift to the town. With a river frontage and a greensward it could be a beauty spot 
equal to any in England. The Ouse Catchment Board dredger could deposit soil to raise the level. A 
suspension bridge from the Waits, a lawn and trees would not be excessive cost, but anything like a 
recreation ground with a bandstand and beautiful flower beds should be regarded with very great 
suspicion. 36 06 12 

1936 09 19 

St Ives RDC has lodged a strong objection against the installation of overhead electricity cables in the 
village of Holywell. They would be a tremendous eyesore in one of the prettiest villages which had 
several thatched cottages that, though modernised, contribute to its antiquity. But people at 
Hemingford Grey did not want water laid on by the council and could not be forced to have it. 
However residents of Hemingford Abbots did want a supply 36 09 19b 

1937 05 12 

St Ives Coronation procession, man dies - 37 05 12 
1937 06 08 

Radio Society set ups radio station near windmill at St Ives - 37 06 08 
1937 07 09 

Franciscan Brotherhood leaving from St Ives - photo - 37 07 09 
1937 07 20 

A Swavesey grocer told the bankruptcy court that in 1913 he’d bought his house which had been 
damaged by fire at both ends and had restored it. He started in business in 1925. But trade declined 
during the agricultural depression and competition became very keen with various stores sending out 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


vans and calling from door to door. Then buses began to take customers to St Ives and Cambridge 
where they did their shopping and took the opportunity of having a cheap day out. This was the last 
straw: the bus service was doing great damage to many small shops in villages 37 07 20 

1937 10 15 

St Ives fair is now nothing less than a gambling show. A few of the push-penny boards do not do any 
harm but there were some attractions that are detrimental to the young: little boys were putting 
pennies on Hearts, Spades or Clubs and winning money at odds of 3-1 . It would be better that people 
did not come than allow that sort of thing. The Council had a responsibility and without any drastic 
changes they could bring back some of the older amusements, the Mayor said. 37 10 15b 

1938 03 11 

Home-grown Chicory Ltd, operating a factory at Lakenheath alleged St Ives Chicory Ltd was seeking 
to poach its staff. The pay was less but their conditions better. Chicory drying was a highly-skilled job 
working in very hot temperatures up to 200 degrees. It took weeks to train a man and if he left the 
gang was thrown out of gear. There were only two factories in England and the market was limited. 
But the St Ives firm said they had had heard their rivals had a better method of drying and were 
employing Belgian labour. So they had gone to the Swan at Lakenheath and brought some of the men 
a drink to try and find out. 38 03 11 &a 

1938 03 22 

Chicory factory dispute, judgement for St Ives firm - 38 03 22c 
1938 04 09 

Hunts Chief Constable said the patrol car at St Ives was unfit for police service and a new Ford 10 
should be purchased. But there was no money in the estimates and last year £730 had been spent on 
police vehicles. The committee passed an estimate of £149 for a bathroom at the Deputy Chief 
Constable’s house but in future such large sums should be budgeted for. Trained detectives should be 
appointed; they would go on a proper course and be used in important cases. But the chairman 
considered such a step was quite unnecessary. 38 04 09c 

1934 04 21 

Cambridge is to be the subject of an ‘air raid’ on July 14th. It is actually an ARP demonstration which 
will take place on Midsummer Common which is to be laid-out in the form of a street and made as 
realistic as possible. The scenario is that several squadrons of enemy aircraft fly over en route to 
Birmingham but are turned back and unload their bombs over Cambridge after they are attacked by 
aeroplanes from Duxford. The whole of the enemy machines are destroyed. Meanwhile the Mayor of 
St Ives, Mr D. Bryant, has built and air-raid shelter in his garden with the help of his sons. The first in 
the town, he is giving his townspeople a lead. 38 04 21 38 04 22a 

1938 09 02 

Speedway enthusiasts visiting Wembley Stadium were unaware that amongst the finalists was a local 
man. Tommy Price was born in Cambridge and attended the old County School. An enthusiastic 
mechanic he acquired an A.J.S and took part in his first grass-track race at St Ives. Having moved to 
London he graduated to a pukka speedway machine and began his racing career with the Wembley 
team competing against the finest riders in the world. He also studied aeronautics and has built several 
model planes which he flies at Northolt Aerodrome. 38 09 02 

1939 05 18 

Godmanchester council’s action in purchasing a siren for A.R.P. purposes was unauthorised and they 
must pay for it themselves. Everybody had thought the County Council would pay as they were 
responsible for public air raid warnings all over the county. But they had decided sirens were only 
needed at Fletton, Ramsey, Huntingdon, St Ives and St Neots. The Huntingdon siren, supplemented 
by one at the hosiery mills was sufficient for Godmanchester 39 05 1 8b 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1940 02 09 

St Ives town clerk G.D. Day retires after 50 years - 40 02 09a, b 
1940 04 24 

St Ives new market - official opening - 40 04 24c 

1940 07 12 

St Ives council not in favour of building g air raid shelters, to inspect passages on Market Hill - 40 07 
12a 

1941 09 12 

Jewish evacuee removed to new billet at St Ives without permission - 41 09 12 

1941 01 10 

Measles. Although measles has extended to two further villages, in the St Ives rural district, the 
Medical Officer does not think there is any cause for worry. The epidemic is much as usual, but it 
happens there are more children about. 

1942 09 18 

Ninety Not Out, — Ex-Aid. H F. Corbett, Hop Bine House, St Ives, celebrated his 90th birthday on 
Monday. Although some years have elapsed since he took part in borough affairs, he still takes the 
keenest interest in the administration of the borough, and follows with a watchful eye all that is done 
for the welfare of the town. 

1943 01 01 

Cromwell Decorated. - The Oliver Cromwell statue took an unwilling part in the Christmas festivities 
at St. Ives when soldiers stationed locally festooned the Protector and placed a bottle of lemonade in 
his hand. The visitors had previously enjoyed their Christmas dinner at the Huntingdon British 
Restaurant and a tea dance followed at St Ives Corn Exchange. Many townspeople were among the 
guests and a jovial time was spent. 

1943 09 17 

Young People's morals. Following a meeting of many prominent people in the religious and social 
side of St Ives who were gravely concerned about the increasing laxity of morals among young 
people, the following resolution was presented at Thurs-day's meeting of the Town Council: "This 
meeting greatly deplores the growing laxity of morals, conduct and the drinking habits among some 
young people of the town, and earnestly press for the support of public opinion to whatever can 
wisely be done to counteract the deplorable state of things”. The resolution was supported by the 
council. The Mayor said the resolution had been sent to him as a magistrate, and he pointed out the 
numerous organisations in the town working to counteract this moral laxity. In the case of the young 
girls there was always the influence of their mothers and the youth organisations at work. It was a 
very difficult matter, and he did not see how as a public body, they could do much more in the matter 

1946 10 23 

Centenary King’s Lynn to Ely railway line commemorated; owing insufficient capital for Ely- 
Huntingdon line the project abandoned and only a short length build from St Ives station to terminus 
on Old North Road, Huntingdon. Failed to pay. East Anglian Company then built a vehicle to convey 
60 passengers drawn by horse ridden by postilion with some outside seats for passengers. A special 
device enabled the ‘driver’ to disengage the engine from the vehicle when in motion. This continued 
for some time until steam locomotives again employed - 46 10 23 

1947 03 13 

From all parts of the district today come stories of flooded roads, following on the thaw and rain, with 
some of them impassable to traffic. In Cambridge itself, Parkers Piece, which for weeks has been an 
expanse of dazzling white, with not so much as a blade of grass showing, now resembles a lake. At St 
Ives some of the back streets are flooded fairly extensively, the water on the road to a depth of about 

www.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


10 inches entering many houses in the town, forcing people to move their belongings upstairs. Traffic 
had to be diverted last night because of the movement washing water into the houses. Three feet of 
water in places is reported at both Pampisford and Caxton, with vehicles stuck in the mud at the latter 
village and having to be dug out. 

1947 04 1 1 

The opinion that the people of St Ives had suffered for a fortnight unnecessarily from water in their 
town and houses that had nothing to do with the river was expressed a meeting of St Ives Borough 
Council. Mr T.H. Burgess said "I consider the river had some part to do with the water in the town but 
not quite so big a part as we would like to think". The original flush of water had been from land 
drainage due to the lack of ditches and the fact that existing ones were full of snow. The river at that 
time was very low. He said the reason why they were left with drainage water was because they were 
dealing with an antiquated sewerage system. The sewer itself had been covered with walls, fences and 
trees 

1947 08 22 

Further steps are to be taken by Huntingdon, St Ives, Godmanchester and St Neots, the four towns so 
badly affected by the March floods, to press home to the Government the urgency of some action 
being taken to mitigate further floods of these places. Mr W.E. Doran (Ouse Catchment Board 
Engineer) said that in his view the inhabitants of those towns were suffering from the sins of their 
ancestors in building houses in a flood area. At the height of the recent flood water was passing St 
Ives at the rate of 1 1,000 cubic feet per second. It was impossible to dig a channel capable of taking 
such an enormous volume of water. A new sluice at the paper mills, St Neots would improve the 
position for that town but would not stop flooding there 

1948 05 1 1 

The watching eyes of Britain's air defence went into action on Sunday in the biggest-scale Royal 
Observer Corps activity in the district since the war. Observer posts were manned at Cherry Hinton, 
Linton, Caxton, St Ives, Abbots Ripton, Littleport and elsewhere following the movements of jet 
fighters, Spitfires, Lancaster and Lincoln bombers and other types of aircraft numbering over 100 
aircraft put up by the RAL. At Linton I found the observers proud of their post, built at their own 
expense by their own labours during the war 

1948 07 06 

Mr George Dennis Day, for 50 years Town Clerk of St Ives died at his home. He was one of a 
"dynasty" of town clerks. His father was the first to hold the office being succeeded by his son in 
1 890. Following Dennis Day's half-century of service his son, Mr George Lewis Day was appointed 
to the office. The Day family's tradition of local government service was founded in 1837 when 
George Game Day was appointed the first clerk to the Borough guardians, an office he held for half a 
century and relinquished to his son 

1948 08 16 

Crews for 2 1 clubs came from over a wide area to St Ives Regatta and, blessed with fine weather, a 
very full programme was enjoyed by large crowds of spectators. A wealth of river knowledge was 
available in the judges' barge by reason of the presence of a veteran trio who have been attending St 
Ives Regatta ever since there has been such an event. The combined years and experience of Dr W.R. 
Grove, ex-alderman E. Kiddle and Aid L.M. Warren would be hard to outweigh 

1948 08 16 

It was a creditable achievement that there was scarcely a lull to allow the crowd's attention to drift 
away from the racing at St Ives Regatta. Several of the finishes were very close an in the final of the 
scratch-four a dead-heat was awarded between crews stroked by R. Stocker (Huntingdon) and S. Gore 
(St Ives). The race, re -rowed was almost as close again. The Misses Bunty and Betty Robb, second 
and third in the ladies race, received their prize from their mother, the Mayoress. 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1948 11 03 

The Mayor of St Ives announced that the Minister of Health has given consent to a £7,500 loan for the 
purchase of St Ives Corn Exchange. At the same time he has authorised the council to start work on 
the addition of a stage, dressing room and toilet accommodation. The Mayor said the council did "not 
want to compete with amusement contractors but we are afraid they might lose the use of the hall - 
one of the best in the country. We don't foresee any burden falling upon the ratepayers as a result". 
Their alternative scheme included a bar and restaurant on a first floor balcony and was estimated to 
cost £2,600 

1949 08 18 

When Mr W. Tomlinson (manager of W.H. Smith’s St Ives branch) persuaded his superiors to open a 
branch in the Hemingfords, little did he know he was soon to open a shop, unique in the whole of the 
Smiths organisation in as much as it is their only shop with a thatched roof. For many years it was the 
village bakery, owned by Mr George Darlow. When he retired 10 years ago the shop as such fell into 
disuse, and now with a coat of bright green paint on the exterior, and books where once the loaves and 
flour stood, this little shop has come back again with a new lease of life. 

1949 11 16 

St Ives has lost a well-known and popular figure by the death of Mr William Scotney. He carried on 
the business of manufacturing wood-worker at Sawtry, a business which was founded by his father 
more than 100 years ago. In 1916 the business was transferred to East St, St Ives, and later to the old 
brewery in Ramsey Road, which was soon to become well-known as West End Mills 


1950 05 24 

Mr Sidney Inskip Ladds has left his written, drawing and printed material in folders marked “S” 
together with photographs, prints and negatives to the Norris Library, St Ives. All similar material 
marked “H” and a series of Huntingdonshire maps and watercolour pictures of local churches have 
been presented to Huntingdon county council to be preserved by them in the Reference Library there. 

1950 05 29 

St Ives council considered a suggestion that all tenants of the Green Leys estate houses be informed 
that lino must not be laid on ground floors. In some houses there was 18 inches of water under the 
floorboards. Aid Bryant said: “The council were pushed into buying the land. It wasn’t good land and 
we’ve done the best to drain it, but we shall always be troubled with damp in the heavy rains”. Where 
linoleum was laid dampness could not get away and dry rot ensued. This would probably lead to 
considerable expense and probably result in concrete floors having to be laid. 

1951 10 13 

St Ives council heard complaints of “lavish” expenditure by Huntingdonshire County Council. Today 
the average rate was higher than any other county in England, except one. Young men would leave 
the county and retired people who once settled in Hunts because of its low rates would no longer 
come there. During the current year county council salaries have increased by over £30,000 and the 
wages bill is now £100 more each working day than it was a year ago. For some years 
Huntingdonshire has been spending more lavishly on administration than other counties and unless 
drastic economies are put in place the county will find itself in a very serious position. 

1952 06 03 c 

Ever since he was a young land “Shorty” Hallen has been fascinated by motor cycles. Some 20 years 
ago he started a business of his own in a small shed in Chesterton. Then in 1936 he opened his 
showrooms at Chesterton Road, Cambridge. Now he has opened another shop at the Bridge Garage, 

St Ives. Who could have visualised that the rather tumbled-down buildings could have been turned 
into the magnificent premises they now are? Instead of a musty -looking building it is a brightly 
painted, well set out and amply stocked showroom with everything for the motor cyclist. It will add to 
the usefulness, drawing capacity and charm of the town. 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1953 06 26 

A recent decision by St Ives Council to break up and dispose of an historic Fenland lighter - 
presented last year - has had serious repercussions. Before donating it as a museum-piece Mr R. Cory 
of Brinkley had received several offers for its purchase from people wishing to convert it into a house- 
boat. The hatches were not perfect but it could easily have been repaired. There was a considerable 
‘bash’ in the bow as a result of an accident on its last trip when carrying sugar beet. It had sunk 
because of heavy rain, strong winds and a lack of interest and attention. A half-hearted attempt had 
made to raise it at the worst possible time. The barge is at present a total wreck outside the Norris 
Museum 

1953 12 10 

Two frogmen are inspecting the bridge at St Ives and making minor repairs to the foundations for the 
second time - the last being in 1947 after the floods damaged the concrete base of the piers. 
Underneath their two-piece suit, flippers and helmet the men wore Naval jerseys and long pants & the 
only parts of their bodies exposed to the water were their hands. One was reported as wearing gloves, 
but this was treated as a joke. Last week they were working on the Huntingdon bridge where they 
carried out similar work. 

1953 12 11 

St Ives borough councillors are to inquire into the costs of buying robes to attend official functions. 

To go with the robes there would be ceremonial hats and the cost of ‘good class’ items would be 
about £24; gear of a lesser quality might cost £17. But they needed young people on the council who 
might find this a great deterrent and the proposal was ill-timed because with the Government going 
out of the market for uniforms the price of clothing might drop. 

1953 12 11 

A St Ives councillor complained that he was not allowed to inspect the borough’s ancient documents 
relating to the charter fair; as a ratepayer he had a right to consult public documents. But the Town 
Clerk said they were going into the question of the fair very carefully and it was inadvisable that too 
much information should get around the town. Private information had been leaked out of the council 
chamber before. 

1953 12 28 

The Town Clerk of St Ives, Mr G.L. Day, is to present the council with a mace by the chief designer 
of the Goldsmiths and Silversmith Company of London. A model of modem art, it will include four 
greyhound heads, the Day family crest for more than 400 years. His family has been connected with 
the Borough for many years and his great grandfather was instrumental in getting it incorporated in 
1874. Unfortunately he died before the town’s inception and it fell to Mr Day’s grandfather to become 
the first Town Clerk until 1890, when Mr Day’s father took over. He succeeded to the job in 1940 

1954 01 15 c 

Part of the pavement has been roped off after a finial stone fell from the top of St Ives Free Church. 
While it is not expected that any more of these stones - placed under the weather vane - will fall, no 
risk is being taken. A steeplejack from the famous Larkin firm climbed to the top of the steeple and 
examined the damage, which was due to both age and weather. The last full-scale inspection of the 
95-year-old steeple was made in 1929 when a ‘big job’ was done on it. 

1954 01 15 

St Ives council were told that the ‘rival’ fair supplied by the Showman’s Guild in opposition to the 
‘official’ fair supplied by Mr S. Smart, did not infringe upon the Corporation’s rights. The Clerk said 
that when he heard the ‘rival’ fair was to be held on Anderson’s field he wrote a threatening letter, 
hoping it would be abandoned. It was not a proper fair, only a pleasure fair and the only things that 
could be bought were sweets. The council could apply to the Government for an order to exclude it. 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1954 01 15 

Cambridge Waterworks is to supply the Ramsey and St Ives Joint Water Board with a quarter of a 
million gallons of water a day until 1965. The Board was created in 1937 but its initial plans for 
abstracting water from the River Ouse had to be abandoned because of ‘gross pollution’ from 
untreated sewage. They have bored four wells at Earith but other sites did not produce results so the 
only alternative was to buy water in bulk, although this means laying 12 miles of mains. 

1954 02 12 

In order that the chaos of last year’s St Ives fair should not reoccur, the Council is to obtain an order 
making it illegal for any rival operator to set up a pleasure fair within two miles of the Market Hill 
within 21 days of the Michaelmas Fair. It will exclude Warner’s Park, the Car Park, the Market 
Layers and other council-owned property which may be used for the storage of caravans and other fair 
equipment. 

1954 06 03 

Standen and Son, the manufacturers of Sugar Beet Harvesters, appreciate the needs of the small 
grower for a compact harvester costing about £300. Prototype machines were built and put to work in 
the fields where they operated for weeks on end. Often they were taken back into the workshops at 
night for modification and be in the fields again next morning. So the ‘Junior’ harvester was bom and 
the firm’s works at Ely and St Ives are busy producing the machine for this year’s crop. 

1954 06 10 

The Air Ministry is being blamed by farmers for the flooding of the land between St Ives and Wyton 
aerodrome. They say that heavy rains were made worse by the aerodrome’s extended runway that shot 
the water on to hundreds of acres of land. In the old days the water on the hill seeped through slowly 
or went into the normal ditches. On Chivers’ farm at St Ives some 3,000 chickens were in danger of 
drowning and elsewhere water came up to the stomachs of cattle. Orchards were flooded, fields of 
beans had 23 inches of water in them & swans were swimming in a field of brussel spouts. The floods 
have done more damage than those of 1947. 

1954 08 13 

This year marks the 150th anniversary of Lloyd’s Ba nk in Cambridge. In 1804 two bothers named 
Foster who were already trading as millers established a bank in Bridge Street. In 1835 they 
transferred to the Turk’s Head in Trinity Street and opened branches in St Ives, Saffron Walden and 
Ely. In those days two members of staff were boarded on the premises, one sleeping on a bed in front 
of the strong room armed with a rusty sword. At no time was the building left unattended. In 1 890 
they acquired a site at the junction of Hobson Street and a new building in Renaissance style was 
opened in 1894. The Capital and Counties Bank took them over in 1904 and 14 years later they 
amalgamated with Lloyd’s. In 1919 the two offices were merged and the Sidney Street premises 
chosen as the main branch. In 1935 a considerable extension was built on the corner site. 

1954 10 23c 

A new pumping station was opened at Kingston. The first bore hole had been sunk by the old East 
Hunts Water Company in 1934. It was altered for R.A.F. purposes at the beginning of the last war and 
in 1943 the Chesterton and St Ives Joint Water Board was formed. Three years ago permission was 
obtained from the Ministry and the present buildings started. The original water supply came from 
Bourn from a station that was built in 1900 and the next erected at Longstanton in 1930. Now with the 
ever-increasing demand for water had come the new station. 

1955 06 18 

The level of employment in manufacturing industries continues to rise while the number of 
unemployed men and women become steadily smaller, Cambridge Employment Committee reported. 
But there is an urgent national need for recruitment to the coal-mining industry with men from 
Saffron Walden and St Ives going for training. Young men registered for National Service should also 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


consider it as enlistment notices would not be sent so long as he remained employed underground. 55 
06 18a 

1955 06 30 

Lloyds marked the 125th anniversary of their bank in St Ives. The first bank was opened by Foster 
and Company in Bridge Street in 1830, transferring to new premises in Crown Street in 1872. They 
were taken over in 1904 by the Capital and Counties Bank which amalgamated with Lloyds in 1918. 
The present Crown Street premises were rebuilt in 1923. 55 06 30 

1955 11 11 

Alderman F.M. Warren, a member of St Ives Borough Council for 51 years and twice mayor has 
announced his retirement at the age of 85. He would like to see the council transform the inadequate 
sewage system as they cannot increase the number of houses without adequate drainage and improve 
the drainage system to get rid of the danger of floods. They should recondition the old bathing place 
and provide a sale ring for tuberculosis tested cattle at the market. Council house rents would be a 
problem but he was sure tenants do not want to live on subsidies provided by the rest of us. 55 1 1 1 1 
& a 

1956 04 13 

St Ives council agreed a five-year slum clearance programme. Seventeen houses in Green Street will 
be followed by others in Cumberland Place, Woolpack Lane, Nicholas Lane and Church Street. When 
they become vacant they should not be re-let but be demolished. When a house in Botchergate 
Buildings becomes vacant steps will be taken to ensure it is not again used for human habitation. 56 
04 13a 

1956 05 25 

Civic history was made when Councillor Mrs M. Hudson was elected Mayor of St Ives. She is the 
first woman ever to hold this high position. She came in 1920 with her late husband, an artist on the 
staff of Enderby and Company, and was elected the first lady councillor in 1945 with more than 1,000 
votes, a record. She must have wished for the company of another lady whilst being ‘smoke-dried’ by 
a lot of men in the committee room, now Miss Grove has joined her. 56 05 25c 

1957 06 07 

St Ives Employment office closure protest - 57 06 07b 

1956 06 18 

Continual rain affected attendance at the Hunts Agricultural Show, held at Houghton Hill, St Ives: 
only 6,000 visited, compared to 10,000 at St Neots last year. The Combined Royal Marines Bands 
arrived seemingly unperturbed by the downpour and marched through the town’s main streets to the 
showground where they presented a programme of music including selections from ‘South Pacific’ as 
the rain became even more heavy. 56 06 18b 

1957 08 09 

The Mayor of St Ives said it was high time something was done to prevent stallholders on its market 
from opening until a late hour at night. During the August Bank Holiday Monday market the town 
was in a shocking state and council employees had to work late to clear up the rubbish. Traders should 
clear their own or be charged a levy of ten shillings. 57 08 09a 

1958 03 06 

A March grocer told the bankruptcy court that at one time he had branches of his business in St Ives, 
Littleport & Downham Market. He also owned and ran a wholesale grocery business to keep his own 
shops supplied. He had been successful during the war due to assured profits and the absence of 
competition but now had a deficiency of £4,784 and was living on National Assistance. 58 03 06b 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1958 03 07 

Huntingdon magistrates turned down requests by the Fiesta Coffee House and the Nickel Coin 
Restaurant to allow them to play juke boxes on Sunday. The Chief Constable thought they would 
attract ‘undesirable types’ and such music should not be encouraged on the Sabbath. In London they 
were being placed in the better class of hotels and clubs and cafes at St Ives and St Neots had them so 
lads from Brampton and Wyton now went there. 58 03 07a 

1958 08 15 

St Ives will see more than 2,000 more inhabitants during the next 10 years, the newly-formed Town 
Development Committee was told. At their first meeting they had the plans of no less than 237 houses 
before them. This shows that their wish that St Ives should be developed privately was beginning to 
come true and they should give every assistance to the developers. They have the responsibility of 
making it appear in 100 years’ time that something was done right in 1958. 58 08 15a 

1958 08 30 

British Railways Eastern Region announces the closure of Earith Bridge Station on the St Ives to Ely 
line from Monday October 6th. Alternative facilities for parcels and freight traffic are available at 
Bluntisham, Somersham, Sutton and Haddenham stations. 58 08 30d 

1958 12 12 

The Great Ouse River Board fear that if a proposal to build 600 houses around St Ives is carried out 
before the new sewerage and sewage disposal scheme is completed then serious pollution may be 
caused. But the Council say there is now less effluent discharged into the river than years ago as a 
number of houses are now connected to their sewage plants and these could be enlarged if necessary. 
58 12 12a 

1959 03 18 

St Ives - Kettering railway line closure plans - 59 03 18 
1959 04 18 

St Ives - Kettering railway line closure - 59 04 18 
1959 05 27 

British Railways announce that passenger train services between St Ives and Kettering and the freight 
train services from Buckden and Grafham stations will be withdrawn on June 15th. In addition trains 
running between Cambridge and St Ives on weekdays which at present serve Kettering will also be 
withdrawn. Arrangements will be made to augment the service to St Ives by the 10.17 am Cambridge 
to Peterborough train calling at Histon, Oakington, Longstanton and Swavesey stations and an 
additional train leaving for St Ives at 5.15pm calling at all stations. 59 05 27a 

1959 09 1 1 

River Board may take over St Ives staunch - 59 09 11a 

1959 09 1 1 

St Ives Dolphin hotel fire - 59 1 1 16 

1960 02 19 

Three sections of disused railway lines might be used in connection with the construction of future 
new roads in Huntingdonshire. They are the line and bridge from Bluntisham to Earith on the St Ives- 
Earith-Ely branch line, the bridge over the Great Ouse between St Ives station and the level crossing 
on the B1040 and the line and bridges from Huntingdon to Kimbolton. But councillors see no use for 
the line from Ramsey East station to Warboys. 60 02 19a 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1960 10 01 

A St Ives boat builder has created a modem boatyard out of an old derelict gravel pit in 12 months. 

Mr L.H. Jones, who moved his business from Huntingdon, cut a channel through to the river and 
dredged out the bottom. In his workshops he builds anything from small launches to 30-feet cruisers 
which are used mainly on Fenland waterways. 60 10 01 

1961 08 24 

Histon station has completed a hat-trick of wins in the garden section of the annual competition for 
best-kept station. They are one of four in the region to gain the top award of £10 which will go 
towards the cost of seeds and plants for next year. The new stationmaster, A.S.G. Harris, has taken a 
keen interest in the competition with strong support from his three porters who have done the bulk of 
the work. Longstanton, Oakington and St Ives stations also won recognition. 61 08 24b 

1961 10 04 

The news that the American air base at Alconbury will not now be closing will give long-term 
confidence to residents and traders in Huntingdon and St Ives who were concerned of the effect on 
their businesses. The Americans had announced that the base would be reducing its strength in 1964 
and about 200 British civilian employees would be declared redundant. Now Alconbury and three 
other bases in East Anglia will remain open 61 10 04a 

1961 11 13 

A bullock being driven to St Ives market escaped from a herd and went into the large plate-glass 
window of Messrs Kiddle and Son in Crown Street, where wallpapers were on display, breaking away 
about two-thirds of it. Nobody was injured and the animal was taken on its way to market, apparently 
unhurt. Due to the heavy rain at the time it was necessary for the firm’s staff to quickly board up the 
window. 61 11 13 

1962 01 06 

Water undertakings administered by local authorities in St Ives, Ramsey, Chesterton and South 
Cambridgeshire are to be transferred to the Cambridge University and Town Waterworks Company - 
62 01 06a 

1962 06 28 

St Ives water shortage very serious - 62 06 28 
1962 09 22 

Two more St Ives public houses are to be closed, leaving the town with only 12 licensed houses, 
including two hotels, where once it had 96. They are the Lamb near the Market Square where Mr 
Charles Gamer has been licensee since 1948 and the Cow and Calf in the Broadway where F.H. Mott 
is leaving after just one year. Brewers Steward and Patterson say they will probably be sold. There 
were ‘two many licences’ and a need for ‘better pubs’ such as the recently-erected Seven Wives 62 
09 22 

1962 09 26 

St Ives estate shop plan - 62 09 26b 
1962 11 01 

The firm of Tom M. Scotney of St Ives, which employs 210 people on important defence and export 
contracts from some of the leading aircraft companies, will have to turn orders away, an Inquiry was 
told. The lack of affordable housing means that they cannot attract skilled craftsmen. But proposals to 
erect staff dwellings on land at London Road, Fenstanton were opposed by planners who say the only 
access to the town was by the river bridge and it would add to traffic at peak hours. Residential 
development should be to the north of the town so retaining the identity of the Hemingfords and 
keeping away from potential flooded area. 62 1 1 01 


www. mikevettv. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1962 12 01 

A pop singer who trades as Rocky Rivers of the Rocky Rivers Top Twenty Club, Corn Exchange, St 
Ives was fined for displaying advertising posters in Cambridge without permission. The City Council 
were concerned with the spread of such unauthorised posters. ‘Rocky Rivers’ claimed they’d been put 
up by rival groups to get him into trouble. He’d given posters to people at the club but did not know 
where they had been stuck. 62 12 01 

1962 12 04 

St Ives councillors discussed the acquisition of properties and the erection of flats in Green Street. 
With the right buildings it would make the central part of the town look as attractive as possible. This 
was an ideal spot for six-storey flats which would give those in the top storeys a wonderful view of 
the river. It would be too big a development for the council themselves but developers and contractors 
would take an interest as land has now got so scarce and there is little space on the outskirts of the 
town 62 12 04b 

1963 01 14 

Four disused gas fittings surrounding statue of Oliver Cromwell at St Ives to be replaced by electric 
lights - 63 01 14a 

1963 02 02 

Like other sport, golf has been hit by the appalling weather conditions with no play since Boxing Day 
at the Gog Magog course. The ground was frozen before then and the greens have not been fit to use 
since the middle of December: they are like lakes and the bunkers full of snow. At Newmarket greens 
are like frozen lakes, Girton’s nine holes are completely waterlogged, St Ives frozen solid and the 
hilly course at Royston has drifts many feet deep. 63 02 02b 

1963 03 19 

St Ives considers redevelopment of prefab site 63 03 19 
1963 03 27 

The Beeching report on the future of British Railways suggests the closing down of 19 stations in the 
Cambridge area - including three serving the main towns of Haverhill, Saffron Walden and St Ives. 
There would be the complete withdrawal of passenger services from branch lines, Cambridge -March, 
Gt Shelford-Marks Tey, Audley End & Bartlow lines. Amongst the village stations closed to 
passenger traffic would be Histon, Wimblington and Chatteris, Bartlow, Pampisford and Linton 
together with Soham and Fordham. Services from Black Bank would also cease 63 03 27 & a 

1963 04 01 

Cambridge Water Company has become responsible for public water to the areas previously supplied 
by the Borough of St Ives, Ramsey UDC and the Rural Districts of Chesterton, South Cambs and St 
Ives. 63 04 Ola &b 

1963 04 02 

The withdrawal of passenger train services from St Ives would be a great blow to trade; people in 
villages would not use buses with that tedious journey, the town’s Chamber of Commerce heard. The 
line from March to Cambridge would remain open for freight and a rail conductor service for 
passengers might be provided. But it would deter industrialists who were considering setting up 
business. More light industries should be encouraged; they would supply the population to fill houses 
and the factories would contribute towards the rates and help meet the high cost of the new sewerage 
system. 63 04 02a 

1963 04 04 

The shock of Dr Beeching’s plans to close Chatteris railway station and the St Ives loop-line 
connecting them with Cambridge and March is over. But Chatteris councillors’ battle to maintain the 
line is hotting-up. It would hit many residents who travel to work in Cambridge each day or visit 

mvw.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


Addenbrooke's Hospital. If the station closes there would be more traffic on the roads which are 
already congested and make the town isolated, they claim. 63 04 04 

1963 09 13 

St Ives Cromwell’s Bam repairs - 63 09 13c 
1963 09 18 

St Ives plan for 140 houses at St Audrey’s Lane approved - 63 09 18a 
1963 10 02 

“There is only one thing to do with Cromwell’s Bam and that is put a bulldozer through it”, St Ives 
councillors were told. Huntingdonshire county council say measures should be taken to preserve the 
building in Houghton Road and asked the Borough for a contribution. But they consider the barn was 
not of great historic interest and the owners did not want anything to do with it. There were no records 
to prove Oliver Cromwell used it and the barn at Toseland was in much better condition 63 10 02a 

1963 12 20 

St Ives Sand and Gravel Company started in 1937 and is now one of the leading producers of 
aggregates in the country. It works at about 18 pits including Earith, Fen Drayton, Wimblington, 
Chippenham and Mepal, in the river terrace gravels of the Ouse Valley. One pit at Meadow Lane St 
Ives was a football field two years ago and has now been dug out to a depth of about 20 feet and left 
flooded. Filling in is a problem for this must be done with clean material which must not pollute the 
water supply. On the other side of the road enormous shovels have created cliff -like sides streaked in 
brilliant orange and chrome. 63 12 20a 

1964 02 01 

St Ives library opens - 64 02 01b 
1964 03 20 

Colin Drage of Abbots Ripton has been a rat catcher since leaving school. He cycles up to 30 miles a 
day carrying bait and traps. He formerly kept five dogs and 60 ferrets but now mainly relies on 
modern poisons. His biggest catch was at the old Huntingdon incinerator where he picked up over 800 
dead rats, many others died in their holes. But now many old buildings in Huntingdon and St Ives 
have been demolished so there are not so many rats about. 64 03 20f 

1964 05 22 

Planning permission has never been obtained to convert part of St Ives town hall into an office, 
occupied at present by the Town Clerk. According to planning records it is still listed as a women’s 
toilet. When the council took over the building, Stanley House, 40 years ago, it prompted great 
opposition. So heated were the arguments that after brawls and fights a government inspector was 
appointed and opponents put up their own candidates for the council. 64 05 22b 

1964 06 05 

Listed buildings may not be demolished but owners need not keep them in repair and they often 
deteriorate until they are condemned as a danger to public safety. Cromwell’s bam in St Ives was a 
magnificent example of a 16th-century manorial barn but it was burn down because it became unsafe. 
In Cambridge many little cottages are disappearing behind scaffolding to emerge with a completely 
different character and price-tag. Some houses in Portugal Place and a tiny court near Sidney Sussex 
College are in danger but Orchard Street has been saved by the Preservation Society 64 06 05b 

1964 10 28 

St Ives Football Club new clubhouse nearly ready - 64 10 28b 

1965 02 1 1 

St Ives Dolphin Hotel and Bridge House may be demolished - photo - 65 02 11a 

mvw.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1965 02 17 

St Ives development plans - 65 02 17a 

1969 01 24 

Cambridge-St Ives railway line could be kept running - feature - 69 01 24 

1970 10 05 

Cambridge to St Ives railway line final journey - 70 10 05 
1972 06 29 

A Mid- Anglia firm claim to have pocketed a world market with a new electronic calculator 
announced yesterday in London. Sinclair Radionics Ltd of St Ives Mill, who are mainly known for 
their hi-fi equipment, launched the Sinclair Executive calculator, which is smaller than a 5p bar of 
chocolate. The Executive is 5 1/2 inches long, 2 inches wide and just over 1/4 inch thick, and will 
easily fit in the breast pocket of a suit. It will sell for £70. The calculator uses 7,000 transistors, 10 
times as many as in the normal colour television set. The calculator has an illuminated display of up to 
eight digits. It will add, subtract, divide and multiply instantaneously. 

1972 07 27 

By throwing out plans to fluoridate Huntingdon and Peterborough's water supply, the county council 
have only postponed the day for two years. Because when the new health authorities take over, there 
is little doubt that fluoride will be in every water supply in England & Wales. Their decision means 
that for the sake of having no fluoride in the water supplies to a small part of the area around St Ives 
and Ramsey, they have denied fluoride to almost 200,000 people in the Cambridgeshire & Isle of Ely 
area. This is because both councils were linked in a £68,000 plan to be carried out by the Cambridge 
Water Company 

1972 08 05 

The long-awaited Cambridge Transportation Study was finally published yesterday. It is two years 
overdue and has cost £1 13,000 - almost £1,000 a page. It was jointly commissioned in 1967 by the 
Cambridge city and County Councils and the University. It was to be carried out by R. Travers 
Morgan and Partners and was estimated at that time to cost £78,000. Its major proposals include a 
Railway Road leaving the A10 south of the Trumpington street traffic lights, hugging the northbound 
railway track all the way to Newmarket Road. After crossing the Cam the new road would veer 
sharply west to follow the St Ives railway line along to the A 10 Milton Road before linking up with 
Arbury Road. The Railway Road should be largely dual two-lane carriageway. Full construction could 
take many years 

1972 09 02 

Joe Bugner - St Ives' former British European and Commonwealth heavyweight boxing champion 
could be forced to train outside Huntingdonshire if his plan to build a gymnasium at Wyton is turned 
down. Joe currently trains in a gymnasium in St Mary's Street in Huntingdon. His manager Mr Andy 
Smith said "I should think that in view of Joe Bugner's contribution to this county in the past they 
could perhaps give him a little consideration" 

1973 01 26 

St Ives boxer Joe Bugner will not be alone when he steps into the ring to face Muhammad Ah in Las 
Vegas next month - for beyond the ropes & out of the spotlights will be scores of his local fans. Many 
fans from his home town of St Ives are making the once-in-a-lifetime trip to Las Vegas to cheer their 
hero in the biggest challenge of his career. Amongst the crowds will be the proprietors of his local 
Seven Seas fish and chip shop, Keith and Eileen Holland. Since they opened their shop four years ago 
Joe, the European heavyweight champion, has been one of their regulars 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1973 02 15 

Joe Bugner fighting a mercurial Muhammad Ali was clearly out pointed in his world title eliminator 
in Las Vegas. Any chance the European champion from St Ives had of taking the initiative 
disappeared in the first round. From then on his fight for survival was only infrequently interspersed 
with bursts of aggression. The Mayor of St Ives, Coun. Mrs Susan Phipps said she was going to send 
Joe a telegram congratulating him on putting up “such a splendid fight” 

1973 03 05 

Sinclair Radionics Ltd, whose launch of a miniature electronic calculator less than a year ago bred a 
host of imitators on the market, are still cock-a-hoop. For today, with eight month sales behind the, 
the St Ives firm still dominates the market, sending out from their riverside mill factory each month 
more than half the United Kingdom sales. Now the firm have hit harder still at their competitors with 
a £20 reduction to £59. The executive calculator is smaller than a 5p bar of chocolate. It uses 7,000 
transistors, 10 times as many as in the normal colour television set 

1973 05 29 

Extra police were drafted in from Mid- Anglian towns for a pop concert at St Ives attended by 
hundreds of teenagers who had come to see The Sweet pop group. The crowd was not as big as 
organised hoped. Even one of The Sweet commented when he got up on the stage; "There isn't many 
of them, is there". The top pop group was supposed to have arrived in a helicopter, but in fact they 
slipped almost unnoticed into the grounds in a large black car. Only a handful of fans saw them come 
in, most were listening to a supporting discotheque 

1973 06 28 

A £750,000 deal has been signed for Sinclair Radionics Ltd, of St Ives, to supply more than 30,000 
electronic pocket calculators to Japan over the next 18 months. Sinclair, who claim to be the largest 
European manufacturer of electronic calculators say that the order will mean a 50 per cent increase in 
the present staff of 120. To help with production they have just taken a lease on a second factory at St. 
Ives. Mr Clive Sinclair claims the Executive is the world's smallest pocket calculator - it is the size of 
a 5p bar of chocolate. It sells at a price which puts it at the top end of the market in Japan, in line with 
their policy of selling a product which has quality and features which make it a prestigious purchase 

1973 07 11 

The possible reopening of the St Ives - Cambridge passenger rail service is a very real priority, said 
Mr Robert Gemell, the Chief Passenger Manager of British Rail. He gave an assurance that he was 
doing all he could to get the line reopened. But the future was really in the hands of local councils and 
the people living in the area to make their demands for this service heard in the right places, he said. 
The final decision was with the Government on the advice of British Rail. The recent estimated cost 
of re-opening the service was £100,000 but British Rail were trying to see if this could be reduced 

1973 07 27 

There was more than a sense of achievement in the air at the official opening of Hemingford sewage 
works. More than 80 guests had first-hand experience of that certain something that distinguishes a 
sewage station from any other kind of plant - because the wind was blowing in the wrong direction. In 
his opening speech the chairman of St Ives Council Health Committee said "I must apologise for the 
lack of control of air pollution, but I understand it was not possible to have air fresheners for everyone 
so you will have to put up with it" 

1974 02 26 

A decision by the new St Ives parish council to wear robes on civic and other special occasions was 
criticised as being out of touch with the young electorate. Councillor Bertie James also warned about 
embarrassing future parish councillors who may not be able to afford the £30 to buy a robe for civic 
functions. A majority of councillors disagreed and the decision to wear robes on civic occasions and 
other occasions where councillors thought fit was carried 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1974 04 26 

Council tenants will move into four-bedroomed homes on a high-class privately built housing estate 
in St Ives if Whitehall agrees. Huntingdon district council say they are waiting for the go-ahead to buy 
a dozen empty houses on the White Cross estate, Ramsey road. But home owners already living there 
are continuing their protests that it would be unfair to have half the estate council-owned and the rest 
in private hands 

1974 05 28 

The vicar of St Ives defended gambling after children had been placing dice for bibles in his church. 
Canon Ronald Jennings said the 300-year-old ceremony was one of the town’s traditions. It takes 
place each year because in 1675 a town doctor left a legacy to pay for bibles to be diced for by 
children in the parish. The youngest was 7-year-old Claire Coleman and the top scorer was 10-year- 
old Rachel Anderson. 

1974 07 24 

Comedian Eric Morecambe, in a borrowed Ironside helmet, led the celebrations at St Ives when 
extensions at the Golden Lion Hotel were officially opened. He met hundreds of local people who 
came along for the free beer and merry-making. Between signing autographs on beer mats Eric 
sparred with Joe Bugner, one of the guests 1974 07 26c 

1974 08 28 

Children on their own are banned from buying sugar in Lipton’s Huntingdon supermarket because the 
manager says they are running a high price black-market. Others have taken action because mothers 
are sending in their children to beat the 21b a family rationing by shops. In all towns in the area the 
story of the sugar stampede is the same: as soon as it appears in the shops it is snapped up. The 
manager of Civil’s supermarket in St Ives said they were having to ration to make sure a steady flow 
was kept. In Cambridge sugar was not available at most supermarkets but Arbury Discount had 
enough for every customer to be allowed one bag. 

1975 01 07 

Frogs are in decline in the fens but are turning up in East Anglia towns disclosed A.S. Cook of the 
Monks Wood Experimental Station. “Traditional breeding grounds have disappeared because of 
changes in agricultural practice which has destroyed many natural habitats. Frogs have adapted by 
becoming more suburban than rural and shown a marked trend towards towns with places like St Ives 
becoming very frog-rich areas”. The revival of the frog had occurred partly as a result of children 
bringing tadpoles from the rivers to their garden ponds 

1975 03 24 

Detailed recommendations aimed at presenting the town centres of St Neots, St Ives and Huntingdon 
from becoming “deserts” of industry and commerce - where no one lives - have been studied by 
Huntingdon district council. Up until the 1950s, the three town centres were mainly residential except 
for small cores of commerce. Even these had their high proportion of flats. Then came the dramatic 
expansion of the 1960s and 70s in housing with shops and offices following hard on its heels. 
Commercial activity forced out residential considerations and together with worsening traffic 
conditions the town centres gradually became less desirable places to live. 

1975 06 19 

Part of the historic town centre at St Ives was in ruins today after fire swept through 200-year-old 
timbered buildings causing more than £100,000 worth of damage. At least one of the buildings 
collapsed and others may have to be pulled down. The fire started in a workshop in Crown Yard and 
spread rapidly to Crown Street. Firemen were hampered by falling debris as centuries old timber 
beams cracked and walls buckled in the intense heat 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1975 06 29 

A glittering prize dangles within reach of Joe Bugner, of St Ives, tonight - the world heavyweight 
title. Bugner fights the legendary Muhammad Ali for the title - sport’s richest prize in Kuala Lumpur, 
Malaysia. The world will be Bugner’s oyster if he pulls it off, but win, or loose, he will have achieved 
a dream in fighting Ali for the title. His mother, Mrs Marget Bugner said:” I think Joe will win. He is 
very clever now, older, wiser and more mature” 

1975 07 04 

Joe Bugner, sporting a black eye and a slimmer waistline after his unsuccessful bid at the World 
Heavyweight Boxing Championship returned to his home town of St Ives to a tumultuous welcome 
from hundreds of townsfolk. The Mayor told the crowd: “We are perhaps a little disappointed that Joe 
did not bring back the coveted award this time” 

1975 07 16 

St Ives based Sinclair Radionics Ltd, one of Europe’s biggest manufacturers of packet calculators has 
introduced a new model. The Scientific Programmable Calculator is aimed at scientists, students, 
engineers and statisticians. Initially it will be available only by mail order 

1975 12 31 

Living on a modern house on a St Ives estate just did not have enough character for Mr Peter 
Cracknell and his wife. So they have taken on the mammoth challenge of bring back to life a railway 
station at Bluntisham. Accommodation is not exactly tailor-made for a family at the moment. There is 
a booking hall, waiting room, a kitchen in a shed, a ticket office, three bedrooms, a yard and 
outbuildings. ‘There aren’t many houses with a platform at the bottom of the garden with a railway 
line as well. Most of our friends think we are crazy’ , he said. 

1976 01 05 

The St Ives boxer, Joe Bugner, former British, European and Commonwealth heavyweight champion, 
has retired from boxing at the age of 26. The 16-stone boxer is rated number four among the world’s 
heavyweights. Bugner, who held his own with the best, began his eight-year career with a three -round 
knock-out defeat and ended it with a 15-round fight for the world title with Muhammad Ali. He said 
today: “Boxing was a sport which I never liked, but which I learned to love. The love died after the 
Ali fight”. 

1976 01 31 

The old signal box on the Cambridge to St Ives railway line at Oakington was loaded on to a lorry and 
taken to the Bressingham Steam Museum near Diss. The box, one of the few remaining Great Eastern 
types dating back to the early 1900s, was bought several years ago by railway enthusiast Mr Mike 
Sharman, who lives at Foxton. However he ran into snags when he wanted to move the box to his 
home so he presented it to the museum. 

1976 06 05 

A cloak and dagger plan by the National Front to embarrass the Home Secretary, Mr Roy Jenkins, 
backfired. They had organised a protest by more than 60 people for his visit to St Ives - but he was 
not there. Four days ago he said he could not attend a Hunts In Europe dinner - but the National Front 
did not discover this until they arrived. They contented themselves with propaganda shouted over a 
loud-hailer 

1976 07 02 

A meeting of over 100 parents at Hemingford Grey threatened to bring St Ives traffic to a standstill if 
the County Council does not reverse its plan to end free buses for village children at St Ivo School. A 
manager said: “If we lose, not one vehicle will cross St Ives Bridge on the first day of next term. It 
would only take one person to stop traffic crossing the narrow bridge. There was derisory laughter 
when an Education officer rejected suggestions that the St Ives Bridge was dangerous to children 
crossing on bicycles. The effect of 200 children crossing the bridge was not yet known. 
www.mikevettv.org.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1977 02 01 

Men stripped to the waist are continuing a chicory drying process used at a Lakenheath factory 40 
years ago. Mr John Fisher has brought Home Grown Chicory Ltd and turned it into a profit-making 
business, carrying on where the combine, Rank Hovis McDougall left off after three years. Farmers 
within a 20-mile radius grown about 400 acres of chicory a year - all of which when dried goes to a 
coffee plant at St Ives. More than 10 years ago the factory was handling three times the amount of 
acreage and Mr Fisher hopes to encourage farmers to grow more. The main alternative crop is sugar 
beet but chicory does not require any pest control whereas the sugar beet farmer has to pay several 
pounds an acre to protect his crop 

1977 02 24 

A train derailment has put a freight line from Cambridge to St Ives out of action. An engine pulling 
nine wagons left the rails at Fen Drayton. The train driver and guard escaped unhurt as the engine 
ground to a halt - leaning over only feet from a flooded field. One theory is that the recent flooding 
had loosened ballast under the rails, causing them to slip sideways. The line is used mainly to 
transport sand and gravel from the Amey Roadstone Corporation works to London and will disrupt 
shipments of thousands of tons of sand and gravel 

197703 24 

Drugs are part of the attraction that brings hundreds of teenagers flocking to an all-night disco held 
every month at the St Ivo Recreation Centre, St Ives. Police say they set up roadblocks and enough 
drugs had been seized from vehicles to supply all 800 youngsters at the disco. But the promoters say 
there is no indication of widespread drug abuse and all they have found is one tablet in the 
cloakrooms. It was the second biggest disco in England & they attracted 14-18 year olds from all over 
the South. He had once tried to run an all-night discotheque in Cambridge but had found drug taking 
was rife and wouldn’t go back there because of the problem 

1977 11 08 

St Ives town centre needs a drastic facelift, say planners. There are 134 protected buildings in the 
centre but more than 50 buildings are in need of renovation and two major sites - Dolphin Yard and 
Crown Yard - are derelict and need rebuilding. The main proposals are a new shopping precinct at 
Crown Yard & pedestrianisation of White Hart Lane. A new bus terminus is proposed at the Cattle 
Market plus a large new shopping complex on the Sheep Market. One development above all will 
have a significant impact - the provision of a by-pass to the east. 

1977 11 14 

In 1975 St Ives Borough Council approved in outline the development of a shopping centre and office 
buildings at Crown Yard. They were asked to approve the demolition of the Jackdaw Boutique at the 
entrance, an old gymnasium and the music shop in the yard. These were among the buildings 
destroyed in a fire that summer. Coun. Fred Jennings observed that historically and aesthetically the 
buildings were important. “We do not want to repeat the mistake of Huntingdon where buildings of 
modem idiom are crying out among buildings of an older type”, he said 

1977 11 12 

St Ives has more reason than most towns to be wary over the firemen’s strike. When fire broke out in 
Crown Yard in the summer of 1975 it served as a grim reminder of past blazes. In 1680 a large part of 
the town was completely destroyed in a disastrous blaze and nine years earlier a fire started in a 
malthouse at the end of White Hart Lane, crossed the Market Place east of Bridge Street and 
destroyed all the houses to the river. 

1978 01 06 

The impact of the tornado which unleashed tremendous energy, sufficient to rip up fully-grown trees 
along the edge of Newmarket cemetery and fling them about like bowling pins, was almost identical 
to tornado activity which occurred in May 1950 & caused considerable damage around Sutton and 

www.mikevettv.ors.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


blew over a double-decker bus. Tornado tracks were plotted from near Hemel Hempstead, through 
Bedford, St Ives, Earith, Sutton, Witcham and Coveney. Cambridgeshire is a good tornado and 
thunderstorm region. The 50-odd destructive tornadoes in the British Isle from 1868 to 1950 were the 
most numerous in the eastern lowlands of England. 

1978 01 06 

Four Cambridgeshire policemen are trying to get on the right beat as much as possible - even when 
they are not working. Off duty they make up “Copper Plate”, one of the few all-policemen music 
groups in the country. The group started when two members got to talking about music while in their 
patrol car. At the moment they are playing about one booking a month to audiences ranging from a 
village pantomime to more than 400 people at a dance in St Ives. One member said: “It sometimes 
surprises us that we actually manage to get together even for a practice, let alone a booking, with us 
all working different places and different shifts. We like to think of ourselves as being a versatile 
music and harmony group able to play anything from Beatles to barber’s shop” 

1978 07 22 

Cambridgeshire County Council is ‘giving away’ a 138-year-old thatched school at Hemingford 
Abbots. The school, which catered for 25 pupils, has been closed as an economy measure and because 
it was set up under a trust the building now returns to the descendants of the persons who set it up, the 
Herbert family. It was a sad moment for headmaster Mr Gordon Chambers as he said goodbye to the 
pupils, who will now go to Hemingford Grey School. But the closure will give hours of pleasure to 
other children for the school swimming pool is to be dismantled and taken to the Wheatfields School 
in St Ives. 

1978 08 08 

Considering the amount of rain that has fallen during the past few months, the impossible has 
happened - Anglian Water Authority Tost’ part of the River Ouse near St Ives. About a mile of the 
water between sluice gates at Hemingford and Houghton simply drained away and left boats high and 
dry. There are two sets of sluice gates which open and close automatically to control the river flow 
and they were both open to cope with the increased flow caused by the rain. But a large tree became 
stuck under one of the gates, preventing it from closing so the water flowed away until there was 
nothing but a trickle on the river bed. 

1978 12 14 

Work has started on a £2.2 million by-pass for St Ives which will relieve one of the major bottlenecks 
in the county - the 15th century bridge which spans the River Ouse. A new 25 -span viaduct will carry 
the road across the river and adjoining flood plain and should be open by October 1980. Then the 
present bridge, which now carried about 10,000 vehicles a day, will be restricted to pedestrians, 
cyclists and service vehicles only. 

1978 12 15 

The East Anglian Railway Development Society urges the restoration of passenger trains on the 
Cambridge to St Ives line. Large domestic and industrial developments have taken place along the 
route and the new housing on the Arbury Road Estate would make for increased usage at Histon and 
even warrant a new halt in the Kings Hedges area. A Parkway station should be built to serve the 
Sawston area and Meldreth become the boarding point for Kings Cross trains. 

1979 04 02 

There isn’t much left of Swavesey station. The station house and offices are all gone, leaving just a 
few broken seats and a creeper-covered shelter to accommodate the traveller. The railway line which 
goes through to St Ives was shut to passengers on 3rd October 1970. Now the only trains to use it 
carry freight and aggregates from Fen Drayton, and oranges to Chivers’ factory at Histon. But on 
Saturday a ‘special’ was chartered from British Rail by the Cambridge Rail Action Group which 
wants to see passenger services restored. Every single ticket was sold within five days and nobody 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


complained when the train was a little late arriving and Swavesey Brownies were busy brewing up 
coffee for any day-trippers 

1979 05 18 

Niggling away in the minds of 1 ,500 people who work at the Cambridge Instrument Company and at 
Sinclair Radionics at St Ives is the question: “Will we still be here next week?” The two companies 
are part of the National Enterprise Board without whose contributions of public money both would 
certainly have gone to the wall in the last three years. Now Mrs Thatcher’s new man for industry, Sir 
Keith Joseph is planning to restrict the NEB’s activities. Sinclair’s history has been one of total 
innovation. It was the first in the field with a pocket-sized electronic calculator, it made an all-new 
digital watch - plagued with technical problems - and the world’s smallest television with a two-inch 
screen. But it made a £2 million loss last year. Both may disappear for good if the new Government 
pulls the financial rug out now. 

1979 08 10 

Clive Sinclair, the 38-year-old former electronics ‘whizz-kid’ who founded Sinclair Radionics when 
he was 2 1 has set up a new company, Sinclair Research. He hopes to develop a television with an 
extra-large flat screen the size of a normal home cine screen which would hang on the wall like a 
picture. He has previously developed miniature radio sets, pocket-sized electronic calculators and a 
mini-television which he manufactured at a factory at St Ives. 

1979 11 13 

Swynford Paddocks country-house hotel at Six Mile Bottom remains the best in Cambridgeshire 
according to a new Egon Ronay guide. The inspectors praised their ‘huge baths, bubble bath and 
gigantic bath towels’ as well as their ‘international food with a homely touch’. The Old Bridge at 
Huntingdon, Bedford Lodge at Newmarket and Slepe Hall Hotel at St Ives also come in for praise. 

But restaurants fare worse, this year even the Hotel de la Poste at Swavesey has lost its single star and 
three have disappeared altogether - the Don Pasquale in Cambridge, Hunters Fen at Cottenham and 
The Chequers, Fowlmere 

1980 03 24 

Rail transport enthusiasts who want the Cambridge to St Ives branch line re-opened have hired a 10- 
coach Inter-City train. It will set off from Swavesey station and call at Longstanton, Oakington and 
Histon before running non-stop to Liverpool Street. The branch line closed to passengers in October 
1970 but the track has been kept open by block freight trains carrying Spanish oranges and pulp to 
Cadburys at Histon and bringing out sand from Amey Roadstone. But the track has recently been 
lifted beyond Fen Drayton and the station site at St Ives has been obliterated by the new by-pass. 80 
03 24 

1980 10 07 

One of the most dramatically effective road works, the St Ives by-pass which provides the first new 
crossing of the Great Ouse since the 1 5th-century, sweeps round the town partially using the track of 
the old St Ives to March railway line. It will carry virtually all the vehicles presently queuing to cross 
the medieval stone bridge which has been the worst bottleneck in the Cambridgeshire road system. 
Now it will be closed and the average flow of 1 1,000 vehicles a day will dwindle to around 500. 80 10 
07a 

1981 03 13 

Services on the Cambridge to St Ives railway line stopped in October 1970 and researchers want to 
assess the effects of the closure. But they had difficulty tracking down former users, because of the 
mobility of the Ouse valley towns. The line closed because the populations they served were small 
and used trains infrequently; in winter they carried only 10 to 20 passengers, most for non-food 
shopping or visiting families. Most switched to buses which took between 35-79 minutes for the 
journey, compared to 27 minutes by train. 81 03 13 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


1981 05 15 

Cambridge ecologists say a bus which can run on railway lines is the solution to transport problems in 
local villages. They plan to borrow a prototype and run it from the city centre to Huntingdon, using 
British Rail’s tracks. It would stop at Mill Road, Chesterton and North Arbury was well as the former 
stations en route to Swavesey. From this point the tracks have been removed but it would run along 
the trackbed to St Ives and the Hemingfords. 81 05 15a 

1981 09 17 

A young walrus has swum into the Earith-St Ives area. The saga began when keepers from Skegness 
zoo helped return the stranded creature to the sea. It was next seen in the Wash by bargemen at King’s 
Lynn but attempts by a conservancy vessel to head off its trip into the fens proved unsuccessful. It has 
eluded an air-sea rescue helicopter on the River Ouse and the RSPCA is still trying to locate it. It is 
believed to be the first report of a walrus in Britain since 1954. 81 09 17b, 81 09 18a 

1982 01 27 

The local retail market has survived the recession so far. Ekins have disposed of four shops on the St 
Neots Market Square which were formerly occupied by Boots, R & E Cadge, Presslands and Falford 
Books. Developments by St Ives Free Church at Market Hill and at Club Mews Ely have provided 20 
shop units, all of which have been let. But in Cambridge increased rents have led to a number 
changing hands. 82 01 27 

1982 06 09 

Jockey Wilson completely outclassed 17 of the best darts players in Cambridgeshire last night - but 
lost to his only woman opponent. The world professional champion, an amiable bullfrog of a man, 
swept aside the hopeful amateurs in his exhibition series at the St Ivo recreation centre. But he was 
still trying for his double out when Anne Haynes, who plays for the Black Bull pub at St Ives, sent 
game shot flashing across the electronic scoreboard. However Jockey had given her 300 start while he 
attempted to get down from 1,001 scoring only with bulls and 25’s! 82 06 09a 

1982 08 05 

According to legend St Ives was named after St Ivo, a Persian missionary bishop whose remains were 
found in 1 ,000. Doubts have been cast on the authenticity of the relics and deepened when Roman 
remains were found on the ancient site near Priory House. But now a new excavation has revealed bits 
of plaster which could only have been used in a villa. So it seems he was simply the owner of a 
Roman house. 82 08 05 

1982 12 31 

Cambridge United, Joe Bugner and Mildenhall speedway all face tough tests in 1983. At the Abbey 
Stadium United are struggling to protect their Second Division status with the lowest home attendance 
and the worst away record in the Football League. Joe Bugner left St Ives in a failed attempt to swap 
his boxing gloves for the greasepaint in Hollywood. Now the big man is back with a couple of 
knockout victories. Meanwhile the Fen Tigers have built a stadium, won the championship and now 
want to bring world stars to West Row. 82 12 31 

1983 08 09 

The truck trade has gone through a traumatic shake-up in recent years. Firms have been merged or 
disappeared as their struggle for survival intensified in an atmosphere of intense competition. It 
speaks much for the tenacity and durability of Ouse Valley Motors of St Ives that they are emerging 
as a power to be reckoned with in the business. The firm has a history going back 60 years and a staff 
of more than 80 people, many with more than 25 years’ service. They pride themselves on being a 
local firm and are expecting to see trade increase. 83 08 09 suppl p2 

1983 12 02 

Householders at St Ives have risked turning their homes into bombs by not heeding gas engineer’s 
warnings. Gas Board staff mounted a massive operation last night, visiting thousands of homes telling 

mvw.mikevettv.org.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


people to switch off their supplies because of a fault. But despite this some people still used gas, 
endangering their own lives and those of their neighbours. Cooking rings and fan heaters have been 
handed out and a WVS soup kitchen set up in the Corn Exchange. 83 12 02 pi 

1984 10 31 

Gaynes Hall, an 1 8th-century mansion at West Perry which until recently was a borstal, is to become 
headquarters of AIM Cambridge, the St Ives high-technology consulting firm. AIM, which was 
formed as part of the Tek group in 1974, is currently recruiting new staff and hopes to have more than 
100 by the end of 1987. They hired a coach to show its St Ives staff the new headquarters and the 
response was overwhelming. People are very enthusiastic about the move. 84 10 31 

1983 12 02 

Householders at St Ives have risked turning their homes into bombs by not heeding gas engineer’s 
warnings. Gas Board staff mounted a massive operation last night, visiting thousands of homes telling 
people to switch off their supplies because of a fault. But despite this some people still used gas, 
endangering their own lives and those of their neighbours. Cooking rings and fan heaters have been 
handed out and a WVS soup kitchen set up in the Corn Exchange. 83 12 02 pi 

1984 10 31 

Gaynes Hall, an 1 8th-century mansion at West Perry which until recently was a borstal, is to become 
headquarters of AIM Cambridge, the St Ives high-technology consulting firm. AIM, which was 
formed as part of the Tek group in 1974, is currently recruiting new staff and hopes to have more than 
100 by the end of 1987. They hired a coach to show its St Ives staff the new headquarters and the 
response was overwhelming. People are very enthusiastic about the move. 84 10 31 

1985 01 10 

Experts at Voice Input, a small company at St Ives have become one of the world leaders in voice 
control computer programming. It can direct a computer to turn the TV on and off, dial telephone 
numbers, print letters, speak foreign languages or just open and close the curtains. The firm hope to 
have a table-top micro-processor with inbuilt microphone and voice recognition equipment ready by 
April and forecast a mini office revolution with a semi-automatic typewriter which will type a letter as 
it is spoken. 85 01 lOd 

1985 01 31 

St Ives Pakistani community fight for Mosque - 85 01 31a 

1986 05 06 

St Ives Corn Exchange might be on the market. The building, which fronts the Market Square, 
comprises a large hall, kitchen, a lounge bar and the Cromwell Room. It is used for civic functions, 
wedding receptions and sales. St Ives Town Council, which spent £100,000 refurbishing it a decade 
ago, are seeking advice as to its value. London property consultants think it could be turned into a 
shop and offices. 86 05 06 

1986 06 02 

A competition to find the typist with the quickest fingers and the least mistakes on her paper attracted 
hundreds of entrants. There was one moment of drama when a typewriter suddenly went wrong, but it 
was quickly put right. Then they were away - not the click, click of the old, manual typewriters but 
the tap, tap of the modern electric keys as the typists beavered furiously at their test piece. The winner 
was Gillian Turton of St Ives with an amazing score of 90 words per minute. Runners up were Paula 
Carter and Ruth Purdue 86 06 02 & a 

1986 06 26 

The old St Ives railway may be dug up and part of the route turned into a new main road to provide 
direct access for people living in the proposed new village for 3,000 people near Swavesey. British 
Rail is unenthusiastic about reopening the line without county or private investment. But the County 

mvw.mikevettv.org.itk bit.ly/mikepettyl 3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


Council has already turned down the suggestion of financial involvement and says it would make 
more sense for the railway to be dug up and replaced with a main road. 86 06 26a 

1986 08 27 

British Rail may build new stations near Cambridge and Huntingdon as part of a modernisation 
scheme. A county transportation spokesman called for stations at Milton and at new villages near 
Waterbeach and Swavesey which are under consideration in the Structure Plan review. He’d also like 
to see the St Ives to Cambridge line re-opened and a stop at Milton would help to service the Science 
Park as well. This was endorsed by the Railway Development Society who also suggested stations at 
North Arbury and Cherry Hinton. 86 08 27 

1986 11 22 

Two masked robbers burst into Ellington post office and stole £1,300 in cash after threatening the 
sub-postmistress with a shotgun. The thieves, one of whom wore a stocking over his head, fled in a 
bronze -coloured Ford Cortina that had been stolen from St Ives and was later abandoned at Grafham 
Water. Police say it is a copy of other recent robberies at Fen Ditton and Haslingfield 86 1 1 22 

1986 12 24 

Father Christmas will have his work cut out to satisfy the child of 1986. Gone are the days when a 
simple doll or toy gun would do. When asked, Fynsey Bullivant wanted a toy pound puppy because 
they look so sad, Claire Boydell of St Ives hoped for a trip to watch ice-skaters Torvill and Dean in 
action and Richard Burton of Willingham wanted a cup win for Cambridge United. Caroline 
Robinson of Cambridge wrote to Santa: “I am trying to be good. I know you were in my chimney pot 
because you kicked some soot down” 86 12 24a 

1987 09 18 

The Cambridge - St Ives railway line could be reopened to passengers and linked with Stansted as part 
of a major new project. The service, shut for nearly 20 years, would be launched with a show-piece 
electric service along the 14-mile line which is at present only used by freight trains. There would be 
three new stations at the Science Park, Coldham’s Fane and Fong Road. Other stations would be built 
or reopened, under plans announced by the County council, including Chittering, Fulbourn and 
Cherry Hinton. 87 09 18a 

1987 10 09 

Railway line to St Ives & Soham station may be reopened - 87 10 09 
1987 10 27 

An overhead cable car system between St Ives and Cambridge has been suggested by the Willingham- 
based Alternative Transport Society as an alternative option to a rail link. There would be a lack of 
noise and fumes and cables would be high enough over level crossings, eliminating congestion. It 
would have simple platforms for alighting with cars slowed automatically by computer control and 
the total all-weather system would ensure safe and reliable transport. But opponents describe it as a 
non-starter and just pie in the sky. 87 10 27b 

1987 11 27 

Anson Packaging’s new £1.5 million extension to its production space was opened by the Mayor of 
Ely, Coun. Margaret Gordon-Potts. The firm, which started in 1971 at St Ives with 12 staff , moved to 
the site of the former Haddenham railway station in 1977. It now operates 24 hours a day, seven days 
a week and employs 300 people. They are a leading producer of thermoformed plastic packaging for 
the food trade and an approved supplier to Marks & Spencer 87 1 1 27 

1987 12 03 

Cambridge has never offered a better selection of eating establishments according to three food 
guides. Midsummer House, opened last year, features in all of them but Twenty-Two on Chesterton 
Road provides probably the best food in Cambridge. The Free Press serves some of the best pub food 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a 


St Ives Scrapbook 1897 to 1990 by Mike Petty 


in East Anglia while the Shao Tao is smarter than the average provincial Chinese restaurant. Outside 
Cambridge there is praise for the Old Fire Engine House at Ely, Fenland Lodge at Stuntney and the St 
Ives Motel. 87 12 03a 

1988 02 17 

Three new railway stations at Cherry Hinton, Fulbourn and the Chittering area have been suggested in 
a County council report. But stations at Harston, Offord and Soham have been rejected on grounds of 
cost. British Rail plans to build a new ‘parkway’ station to the north of Cambridge to meet growing 
commuter passenger growth. But calls to re-open the Cambridge to St Ives freight line to passengers 
are firmly ruled out. It would cost £4.84 million, greatly outweighing potential income, consultants 
say 88 02 17 

1988 02 29 

Terrified householders, some in their night clothes, were evacuated when fire ripped through a St Ives 
firm, causing a major gas alert. Ambulance men ferried East Street residents to the police station after 
the F. Wilson printing company burst into flames. At the height of the blaze part of the timber 
building collapsed into the street, scattering burning debris. The main building was razed to the 
ground but today production was continuing with other printers offering help. 88 02 29 

1988 06 10 

The final phase of Huntingdon northern bypass opened five months ahead of schedule. The stretch 
from Hartford to St Ives is part of the £5 million scheme which saw the Spittals roundabout section 
completed in 1980, allowing industrial growth west of the railway in Huntingdon. The contractors 
also had to build a railway bridge across the east coast main line. An estimated 14,000 vehicles will 
use the bypass each year. 88 06 10 

1986 06 11 

Policemen injured during fights when youths ejected from St Ives Corn Exchange - 88 06 1 1 

1989 04 01 

An old village fire engine which used to protect the villagers of Earith in the middle of the 1 8th 
century has been stored in a shed at the Norris Museum, St Ives, since 1936 because it will not fit 
inside. Now a conservation expert is to examine the Newsham pump to see if it is worth renovating. 
Curator Bob Bum-Murdoch says it appears to be in good condition, though some of the wood is 
rotten. A team of villagers would have dragged the pump to the fire then six or eight men would have 
operated the handles. 89 04 01 

1989 08 22 

Business is booming in some local pubs. The Volunteer in Trumpington has seen a 20 per cent 
increase in turnover since all-day opening was introduced a year ago. They get a lot of business 
people in for long lunches and often folk call in on their way from work. Tourists also take advantage 
of the afternoon opening. The White Hart at St Ives also reports many businessmen drinking in the 
afternoon. The Spade and Becket, Thompson’s Lane says they may follow suit as people are queuing 
outside the doors from five o’clock. 89 08 22 

1989 10 04 

Jim Paice, MP, has launched a bid to reopen the Cambridge to St Ives branch railway and extend it to 
link with the East Coast main line at Huntingdon. He says it could reduce traffic on the heavily- 
congested A604. Enthusiasts packed British Rail ‘specials’ up and down the 14-mile line which is 
normally used by just one freight train a day carrying mineral workings from Fen Drayton; it is also 
used occasionally by Chivers jam company. 89 10 04b 

1990 04 28 

Business park bringing 3,000 jobs launched at Eden Park by St Ives interchange on A604 - 90 04 28a 


www. mikepetty. ore. uk bit.ly/mikepettyl3a